Women's and gender materials Haverford Special Collections (HC)

Abby Kelley Foster was a prominent Quaker activist for both the anti-slavery cause and for women’s rights. This collection primarily contains her correspondence on these issues and includes letters from Susan B. Anthony, Lucretia Mott, Frederick Douglass, and William Lloyd Garrison.

The main purpose of the convention was to interest women in the subject of anti-slavery and to discuss the role of women in the abolition movement. Members also wanted to establish a system of operations in every town that would exert a powerful influence in the abolition of slavery.

Founded in 1833, this organization was a biracial group in which Black women joined Quaker women in the fight for justice. Included are the annual reports of the organization for the years 1863, 1965, 1866, 1868, 1869, 1870.

Eliza Cope Collins was a Quaker woman who was active in benevolent enterprises and especially in the anti-slavery cause. In much of her correspondence she discusses the legal issues of enslaved individuals and Native Americans as well as the rights of women.

This society was founded to help former enslaved people who had fled to Canada. Included in the collection are the committee minutes and the treasurer's records from 1852-3.

The collection consists mainly of the diaries of Julia Wilbur who wrote about her activities helping formerly enslaved people in Alexandria, which included distributing clothes, food and supplies, organizing schools, setting up orphanages and soliciting financial support. She was also active in the women’s suffrage movement.

Emily Howland was a prominent Quaker activist during the period of the Civil War. She strongly believed in the power of education as a means of liberation, and so in her will donated much of her estate to various educational institutions for freedmen. This collection contains correspondence related to her will as well as various biographical documents regarding her life.

This work was written by Elizabeth Buffum Chace as a critical examination of slavery practices. Chace was a prominent anti-slavery and women's rights activist during the latter half of the 19th century. She was a Quaker and lived in Rhode Island.

Written by Lucretia Mott to her friend Adeline Roberts, this letter was sent in 1851 declining an invitation to speak at a Female Anti-Slavery Society meeting. Lucretia Mott was a prominent activist against slavery and lived in Rhode Island.

This book contains a series of letters written by the activist Sarah M. Grimké to Mary S. Parker. Represented in the letters are her ideas that women have the same rights and duties as men and should be able to participate fully in education, religion, work and politics.

Delivered by Lucretia Mott, a leading women’s rights activist, this discourse outlines her feminist philosophy and her support for equal economic opportunities and women’s equal political status, including suffrage.

This is a speech given by M. Carey Thomas, President of Bryn Mawr College, at the opening meeting of the Equal Franchise Society of Pennsylvania. In it she discusses the overwhelming reasons why women should be given the right to vote and also refutes those arguments that want to deny women the vote.

Written and published in 1871 by the National Woman Suffrage Educational Committee, this pamphlet addresses American women in the hopes of working together to obtain the right to vote.

This book was written by Catherine H. Birney in 1885 as a biographical account of the work done by the Grimké sisters for the anti-slavery movement and women's rights. They were two of the first to voice their dissatisfaction with contemporary responses to salient social issues.

Published by the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting Women's Problem Group, this pamphlet discusses the benefits of allowing women to use birth control even as Quakers. This was published in 1933.

These letters were written in 1982 by Arlen Specter to Diana Alten regarding Specter's own opinions on the right to abortion and general reproductive rights. Specter was a US senator from Pennsylvania who acted as both a Democrat and a Republican for separate spans of time during his career.

Written by Margaret Sanger to Edward Huntington Fallows, this letter was written in 1935 and discusses the Oxford Group, a prominent Christian organization of the time. Margaret Sanger was the chairperson for the National Committee on Federal Legislation for Birth Control.

Letters to and from Philip Garrett, Eliza W. Jones, Amelia S. Quinton, Florence Redman, and Charles Rhoads, discussing petition to abolish Indian Bureau, dated, 1899-1900. Also Association tracts urging reform, dated 1898, 1899.