Skip to main content

ANTH 450: Senior Seminar (HC)

Anthropology 450: Senior Thesis Seminar (Ngwane) Fall 2017

Literature Reviews

Example articles:

Starting Points

These databases are good starting points for finding journal articles.

  • The first two survey anthropology scholarship in depth.
  • The third covers all subject areas and is especially good for a first look at cross-disciplinary studies.

Discipline-Specific Indexes

These indexes are particularly good for accessing the scholarly literature of specific disciplines, giving the viewpoint and methodologies of practitioners in that field.

               African Studies, use  Africa-wide

               Ecology, use  GreenFILE

Economics, use  EconLit and PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) 

Education, use  ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) and  Proquest Education Journals

Ethnic groups in the United States, use  Ethnic Newswatch

Gender, use GenderWatch

History in the United States, use America History and Life

Hispanic American Studies, use  HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index) 

Medicine, use  PubMed

Political issues, use  Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 

Psychology, use  PsycINFO 

Public Policy, use  PolicyFile for reports from think tanks

Religion, use  ATLA Religion Database

Sociology, use  Sociological Abstracts 

Women's Studies, use  Women's Studies International 

Once you have found citations to journal articles, use the Find It button  to check for a copy in the tricolleges. If the journal is not available at Haverford, use the Find It Request via Interlibrary Loan option to ask for a digital copy of the article.  It will be sent to your email address.

Book Reviews

The Anthropology Review Database (ARD) is an excellent place to look for anthropology books on particular topics. The reviews posted provide both descriptive and evaluative information which will help you decide which books will be most helpful. You can choose to browse or search by using keywords (such as "gender" or Hawaii") or author names, for example.

Dissertations and Theses

Doctoral students go through an exhaustive literature search when writing their dissertations. They also tend to work on new questions, sometimes ones that have received very little attention from scholars before. You can obtain these dissertations and benefit from all the bibliographic treasues and new ideas. 

Oxford Bibliographies Online

The Oxford Bibliographies Online present extensive annotated reading lists for topics in many different fields, with advice on key works, recent studies, and reference works. New essays are added twice a year. 

Sections of the OBO include:

     African Studies   See articles including  Health, Medicine and the Study of Africa

     Anthropology    See articles including  Gender   Sexuality and  Virtual Ethnography

     Islamic Studies   See articles including  Education

     Political Science   See articles including  Global Inequality

     Public Health   See articles including  Abortion

     Sociology     See articles including  Asian Americans  Discrimination  and  Social Control

Finding Books through Tripod

Tri-College Collections

Use the Tripod Library Catalog to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Swarthmore, and Bryn Mawr.

The following suggested subject searches are only a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic not listed below, try doing a keyword search in the Tripod Library Catalog to find relevant materials and then using the subject headings assigned to those materials to find more.

Sample Searches

Keyword Searches

Subject Headings

Subject Headings and Keywords Combined

Finding Ethnographies

Book-length ethnographies, closely observed descriptions of a particular cultural group, are sometimes difficult to find in library catalogs because there is no single term used by librarians.  You can begin by combining the name of a cultural group or an identity with the keyword ethno* (for ethnography or ethnology) or with either of these phrases, "social life and customs" or "social conditions":



An important place to look for many materials not owned by the Tri-College Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 300 million titles owned by libraries around the world. Many of these items are available to you though interlibrary loan.

E-Z Borrow, Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery


Request items that are not available in Tripod on this page. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.  For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. They will be sent to your email address.