Handbooks and subject encyclopedias provide overviews of ideas, people, and events They are a quick way to find out the basic facts and current points of debate on a scholarly issue.
When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of books, articles, and, often, Web sites that are most authoritative and up-to-date.
The titles below reflect a few of the comprehensive encyclopedias available online through Tripod. More specialized encyclopedias, such as the Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History or the Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements, may also prove to be useful.
Tip: To find more titles, search encyclopedias as a subject in Tripod along with topic keywords.
in
in
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThese kinds of reference books provide overviews that address major issues and topics within a field of study. The authors not only discuss key content but they also provide a more sophisticated level of analysis and contextualization than you might find in a textbook or introductory study. The authors are chosen for their research in specific areas and deliver authoritative essays. The material they choose to include in their bibliographies are good points of departure for further research and reading.
in
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowCollections of Handbooks from Notable Publishers:
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window