Guides to Sources

Guides to sources, also known as literature reviews, are a particularly useful tool when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual landscape succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding.

Annual Reviews
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews offers timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scholars. Volumes are published each year for 41 focused disciplines within the natural and social sciences (including Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Economics, Environment, Law, Medicine, Genetics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology).

Compass Titles
The publisher Wiley-Blackwell has valuable journals in the Compass series devoted to literature reviews within the humanities and social sciences. They include:
History Compass
Language and Linguistics Compass
Literature Compass
Philosophy Compass
Religion Compass
Social and Personality Psychology Compass
Sociology Compass

Oxford Bibliographies Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides annotated bibliographies and brief introductions to different topics in the humanities and social sciences. Each essay includes an introduction to the topic area, guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.
Haverford currently has access to these sections:
African Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
Buddhism
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Ecology
Education
Environmental Science
Hinduism
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Sociology
** African American Studies On Order. Will be available soon.
Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this collection of dissertations in the Humanities and Social Sciences to find recent accounts of scholarly interpretation. This is especially valuable in emerging fields. If the dissertation you want is not available full text in the database, check the author and title online. If you don't find it, request the dissertation through Interlibrary Loan.

Theses from Other Countries
Links for theses from Britain, France, and Mexico as well as from international collections.

MSP Workshop - Research Strategies and Resources (HC): Guides to Sources

Guides to Sources

The Bookworm