Public Health Materials in Haverford Special Collections (HC)

The Aimwell School was founded in 1796 by Anne Parrish for the purpose of providing “a good English education” for poor girls. The collection includes minute books, financial documents, and photographs.

1861, 1866, 1869

These cheap, mass-produced dime novels include a number of boys as heroes, including The Brave Boy Hunters of Kentucky and several boy detective novels.

This diary, from 1833-34, documents the behavior of two young boys. It was kept by their parents, and was read aloud to them weekly.

The collection includes letters of Mary Cope to her children, often with lots of advice. Anna and Francis Cope's letters often discuss their children and the children's health. Letters of Rachel Cope Evans also deal with her children's health.

Correspondence between Henry Drinker and his wife Elizabeth during his exile from the Philadelphia area during the Revolutionary War. Drinker often writes about how hard it is to be separated from his family and his children.

Founded in 1838 for the "education, maintenance and instruction in school learning and in agriculture and mechanical trades or arts, of free male orphan children of African or Indian descent."

A Quaker relief organization in Philadelphia, they did spinning work, gave out soup, and opened a home for widows and orphans.

Manuscripts for this book by William Wistar Comfort, all based on characters from French history.

Records of a boarding school run by the Society of Friends from 1852 to 1938 in Cattaraugus County, New York. See especially sections AA47-68, although letters in the proceeding part of the collection also deal with the school.

Leeds was a member of the Philadelphia School Board from 1931 to 1950.

Includes the 1896 diary of Ethel Rhoads which describes the birth and breastfeeding of her daughter, Sarah.

Penn Charter is a Philadelphia private school founded in 1689.

This collection is composed of the single, handwritten diary of Rachel Scattergood, for the year 1840. The first ten pages of this volume provide descriptions of Scattergood's parents, and her earliest years of childhood. As Scattergood is writing at the age of eight to nine years old, her diary provides an insight into childhood, particularly Quaker childhood, during the nineteenth century. Her diary entries revolve around her school activities and lessons, descriptions of her interactions with her parents, and often express guilt over her disobedient behavior.

This collection is comprised of two volumes of photograph albums which are largely composed of the baby photos of John Flagg Gummere, nicknamed "Jack."

This collection is comprised of the single volume copy book of Esther Pinkham. The volume includes repetitive phrases, used to practice handwriting, as well as copied poetry.

This collection is comprised of the single volume copy book of Catherine Morris. The volume includes a list of place names, religious and moral quotations, and an acrostic poem of the alphabet, which were used by Morris to practice her handwriting. The end of the volume also includes different text styles, which were labeled as Square text, Roman print, German text, and Italic print.

This collection consists of 15 volumes of Katherine Paxson’s journals. Included inside the journals are pamphlets from Lansdowne Meeting, to-do lists, descriptions of dreams, and excerpts of poems. Entries describe Quaker meetings, prayers and religious reflection, attendance at writing conferences and workshops, as well as visits with family and friends, and daily housework, including preparations for holidays and meal preparation.

Lewis Hine

Lewis Hine

Charles Currier

Charles Currier

Charles Currier

Larry Fink

Aaron Siskind

Paul Strand, in his The Formative Years

Edward Steichen

James van der Zee

"The invalid's oracle: containing peptic precepts, pointing out agreeable and effectual methods to prevent and relieve indigestion, and to regulate and strengthen the action of the stomach and bowels ... To which is added, The pleasure of making a will." Published 1828.

Baily (1826-1916) was a Philadelphia-area merchant. His letters are a rich source of information about aging.

This collection includes 43 original, bound, handwritten volumes of Joshua Baily’s personal diaries, spanning the majority of his adult life, though diaries for the years 1857-1878 are missing. In his old age, Baily’s focus shifts to news of his family. Two volumes, for the years 1879 and 1880, are the diaries of Joshua Baily’s wife, Theodate Lang Baily.

Cicero was a Roman orator. This edition of his work on old age was published in Philadelphia in 1758.

This collection is composed of 45 handwritten, bound volumes of the diaries of Jacob R. Elfreth, Sr. The majority of entries detail family news, births, deaths, and marriages within the Quaker community, Quaker meetings, and Elfreth's work with the Leigh Navigation Company.

This collection is composed of 64 volumes of the bound, handwritten diaries of Jacob R. Elfreth, Jr. The majority of entries detail day-to day activities; family news, news of Elfreth's carpet business, attendance at Quaker meetings, social calls, accounts of weather, and births, deaths, and marriages within the Quaker community.

Includes letters from the 1720s through the 1860s. Many deal with health and age issues.

This collection includes a variety of diaries of the Lloyd family, including three anonymous diaries, one diary written by Mary Ann Lloyd, one by Sarah Lloyd, and one by Susan Lloyd. Diary entries are generally related to religion, Quaker meetings, and social calls. Some volumes includes extracts or poetry. Includes a notebook of Susan Lloyd titled "A Companion in Sickness" with many quotations about dealing with ill health.

This 1771 text includes "rules for diet, exercise, and physic for preserving a good constitution, and preventing disorders in a bad one."

Records cover 1946-1986 and include correspondence, financial information, surveys, publications, and records of Friends Homes.

By Francis W. Taylor, this is an important text in organizational and decision theory.

Smith (1832-1911) lived in the Philadelphia area. Her letters cover a variety of topics including health and old age.

Anna Spencer (1832-1905) was a single Quaker woman who kept a diary of her daily life from 1855 until 1905.

Mary Stokes (1803-1884) discusses her daily life, mental well-being, and health issues in the neighborhood in her diary, which covers 1847 to 1873.

"Or, A plain philosophicall demonstration of the nature, faculties, and effects of all such things as by way of nourishments make for the preservation of health."

In this 1916 letter the writer describes visiting the Home for Colored People on Friends Day.

Scattered holdings, 1860s through 1890s. We also hold their constitution and by-laws.

The "Asylums and Homes" section includes information about a number of old-age homes.