Anna Cope Evans suffered a nervous breakdown in 1900 and spent time in "Bournewood" in Brookline, MA. The collection includes her letters from Bournewood as well as letters from Rachel Cope Evans, Anna's mother, on her daughter's health and recovery.
This work is an original edition of Hermann Rorschach's book on diagnosis of psychological illness and general psychoanalytical studies, and includes his work with the Rorschach test as a method of psychiatric inquiry.
Full title: Psychodiagnostik: methodik und ergebnisse eines warnehmungsdiagnostischen experiments (deutenlassen von zufallsformen) Mit den zugehörigen tests bestehend aus zehn teils mehrfarbigen tafeln
These papers, collected by Edward Charles Spitzka, contain newspaper, magazine, and medical journal clippings from 1895 to 1903 that describe the research, diagnosis, and treatment of mental illness, or “insanity.”
Full title: The anatomy of melancholy, vvhat it is: VVith all the kindes cavses, symptomes, prognostickes, and severall cvres of it. In three maine partitions with their seuerall sections, members, and svbsections.: Philosophically, medicinally, historically, opened and cvt vp
Materials include the Superintendent's journals and day books, newsletters, newspaper clippings, minutes of various managing committees, financial information, case histories, patient and staff records, and visual materials such as photographs and slides.
Hints for introducing an improved mode of treating the insane in the asylum
This collection contains the diary of Elizabeth R. Shoemaker Taylor who gives an account of Morgan Hinchman's commitment to Friends' Asylum in Frankford, PA, in 1847 which resulted in a lawsuit against his family.
This collection contains one bound volume of minutes and tipped in reports, and a collection of related materials of loose papers. The minutes span from 1922 - 1932, and include minutes from semiannual meetings of the Committee. The loose papers include letters, type and printed reports, and brochures for the hospital.