Full title: A discourse delivered on the 26th of November, 1795: being the day recommended by the governor of the state of New-York to be observed as a day of thanksgiving and prayer, on account of the removal of an epidemic fever, and for other national blessings
Written by Absalom Jones and Richard Allen to Matthew Carkson as a short address regarding the treatment and recognition of slaves who either were afflicted by yellow fever or assisted in treating those who did, this work was published in 1794.
This collections contains primarily correspondence of Mary Robinson Morton with various family members regarding numerous topics, including the effects of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 that continued into 1798.
Full title: A short account of the malignant fever: lately prevalent in Philadelphia; with a statement of the proceedings that took place on the subject, in different parts of the United States. To which are added, Accounts of the plague in London and Marseilles, and a list of the dead, from August 1, to the middle of December, 1793
Full title:A treatise on the synochus icteroides, or yellow fever: as it lately appeared in the city of Philadelphia; exhibiting a concise view of its rise, progress and symptoms, together with the method of treatment found most successful; also remarks on the nature of its contagion, and directions for preventing the introduction of the same malady, in future
This collection is comprised of a single volume commonplace book of the Morris family. It includes copied extracts from the journals of Margaret Morris, which include a description of Yellow Fever in Philadelphia in 1793, as well as copied poems, letters written by Mary Morris and Richard Hill Morris, and a clipped illustration depicting early settlers.
This collection is comprised of the single volume diary of Joshua Cresson. The volume provides an account of the Philadelphia Yellow Fever epidemic in 1793, and is largely religious in nature. Entries describe the illness, and the death and burial of many of Cresson’s community. The volume includes a note signed by Mary Cresson, which she addressed to her children with Joshua Cresson, so that they would understand the circumstances of their father's death.
The collection includes unbound typed transcripts of Drinker’s original diaries, from 1758-1800, though the diaries from 1787-1788 are missing. Her entries provide a record of small pox and yellow fever outbreaks during her lifetime, and her personal entries detail the illnesses of herself and her family, as well as treatments administered to herself and her children
This collection consists primarily of correspondence, including that related to the medical practices of several members of the Hartshorne family. The correspondence of Joseph Hartshorne includes several letters related to the treatment of cholera, as well as other prominent diseases of the mid-19th century.
This collection includes extensive histories and documents regarding prominent Philadelphia Quaker families. The letters of Cresson family members, namely those of Susan Vaux Cresson discuss the rise of scarlet fever and small pox as well as other health issues.
Translation of title: "Remedies against the plague: facsimiles, notes, and bibliographic list of Incunabula on the plague." Written by Carl Arnold Klebs in 1925 discussing remedies presented in early printed works on the plague.