Abolition and Slavery Materials in Haverford College Special Collections (HC)

"and for the relief of free negroes unlawfully held in bondage, and for improving the condition of the African race: also, A list of those who have been elected members of the society"

This address was published by the Anti-slavery Convention of American Women in Philadelphia during 1838.

Taylor was a Philadelphia storekeeper active in the abolition movement and one of the publishers of the magazine The Non-Slaveholder.

Using images and stories of enslaved children separated from their families or mistreated by their owners, this book attempted to show that Black and white children should be treated similarly.

"Begun in the year 1774, and enlarged on the twenty-third of April, 1787. To which are added, the acts of the General assembly of Pennsylvania, for the gradual abolition of slavery."

Published by the Providence (RI) Society for Abolishing the Slave-Trade, it also contains anti-slavery laws passed by various New England states.

Written by the Providence Anti-Slavery Society, this publication includes the Declaration of the National Anti-Slavery Convention that was signed in Adelphi Hall in Philadelphia on December 6, 1833.

Written by Thomas Clarkson, a prominent British abolitionist.

This work contains the account of the journey aboard a ship of enslaved people in the Mozambique channel in 1843 and also contains several illustrations, including an extract from a musical score.

This autobiographical account of the life of Frederick Douglass details his experiences his experience of enslavement and freedom.

Published in 1840, this work features Quaker poets such as E.H. Whittier, W.J. Allinson, and J.G. Whittier and focuses on injustices of the trade of enslaved people and the quest for freedom.

Partly written as a reply to a pamphlet by a West India planter.

Published in 1809 following the abolition of slavery in Great Britain, this collection of poems features the work of James Montgomery, James Grahame, and E. Benger and calls emphatically for the end of the trade of enslaved people in the West Indies.

A compilation of letters and speeches by various abolitionists published in 1851, this book by prominent education reformist Horace Mann covers the period of 1848-1851 and discusses the institution of slavery and support for abolition.

A poem in heroic couplets advocating for the abolition of the trade of enslaved people.

The story of two enslaved people who attain their freedom with the help of Lancaster County, PA Quakers.

In response to critics who said she knew little of Southern life, Stowe published this work, in which she details the sources for her novel.

This response to Uncle Tom's Cabin encourages readers to be concerned about the working class, or "white slaves of poverty" in the North, rather than Southern slavery.

Probably the first abolitionist novel published in the United States, it tells the story of the mixed-race son of a plantation owner. First published anonymously, some readers took it to be true memoir rather than fiction.

Published anonymously by "A Lady from New Orleans," this response to Stowe criticizes her novel's enthusiastic reception in Britain after its release.

Perhaps the most influential work of fiction about slavery, Stowe's novel prompted plays, parodies, responses, and was republished many times. This is the first edition; Special Collections also holds several other editions, both illustrated and not.

An expanded edition of The Slave, probably brought out to capitalize on the popularity of Stowe's novel. The author added a new section of the novel, sending the hero back to the South in search of his family.