Members of the Allinson family were involved in the abolition movement, and the collection includes materials from their membership in the New Jersey Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery, mostly from the late 18th century, as well as manumissions of slaves. Some of the correspondence, particularly that of Samuel Allinson, also deals with issues of slavery.
Coates was a Philadelphia merchant and publisher who was also active in the educational reform and abolition movements. He was a member of the American Colonization Society, which established Liberia as a colony for African-Americans in West Africa. This collection includes Coates's correspondence about Liberia and resettlement.
Thomas Pim Cope was a Philadelphia merchant (founder of the Cope shipping business) and civic leader. He was interested in issues of slavery. The collection also includes several letters of abolitionist Thomas Garrett about his activities on the Underground Railroad and work with Harriet Tubman.
Abby Kelley Foster was a prominent Quaker activist for both womens' rights and abolition. This collection of her correspondence focus mainly on these issues and include letters from Susan B. Anthony, Lucretia Mott, Frederick Douglass, and William Lloyd Garrison.
Pleasants was an active abolitionist, freeing all of his eighty slaves and working to establish educational opportunities for freed slaves. His letterbook includes correspondence with major contemporary political figures including George Washington, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson, and Patrick Henry. His correspondence focuses primarily on the issues of religion and abolition.
This collection contains correspondence and diaries of Samuel Rhoads, who was active in a number of reform causes. He was one of three publishers of The Non-Slaveholder, a Philadelphia monthly which appeared from 1846 to 1854. He was also a founder of the Friends of Philadelphia Free Produce Association.
Rogers was a New Hampshire lawyer and anti-slavery advocate. He was editor of the Herald of Freedom, an anti-slavery newspaper, and also spoke on slavery issues. The collection includes texts of speeches and an 1840 diary.
By George W. Taylor, businessman and abolitionist. Taylor describes his family genealogy, his early education, his experiences growing up as a Quaker and his career as a teacher in New York and Pennsylvania, and his business selling slave-free labor dry goods during the Civil War.
Julia Wilbur worked closely with Harriet Jacobs to assist freed slaves in Alexandria, Virginia, including distributing food and organizing schools. Wilbur was also active in the women's suffrage movement. The diaries in this collection cover the period of the 1840s through the 1890s.
This collection is comprised of the single volume manuscript which describes Jackson’s interviews with Quaker slaveholders in Maryland. The volume is organized by the names of individuals that Jackson interviewed, their reasons for owning slaves, and whether or not they were determined to maintain ownership, or could be persuaded to set them free.
This collection is composed of the single volume scrapbook which is comprised of clippings of an article on the Christiana Riot, published in 1910 by the Atlantic Monthly, but originally published in 1866. The article, "The Freedman's Story," was written by William Parker, a former slave who escaped slavery and became an abolitionist and activist in Pennsylvania, and was a key actor in the Christiana Riot, and described his memory of the event. It is not known who compiled the scrapbook.
One of the first declarations against the institution of slavery, this document serves as a textual account of the protest by Germantown Meeting in Philadelphia against the ethical inconsistencies of slavery. It was signed by Germantown Meeting members on February 18, 1688.
The records of the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting include minute books and other miscellaneous materials and provide documentation of Quaker anti-slavery movements in Philadelphia. We also hold records of many of the monthly and quarterly meetings that make up PYM.
This volume records the manumissions of slaves for various members of Abington Monthly meeting. The Manumissions include a statement describing who the slave holder is freeing, and why, and includes the signatures of the slave holders and their witnesses.
This collection is comprised of two volumes, one from the New Jersey Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery, and one from its Burlington County branch. They both contain minutes. The state Society provided nominations of members to the county groups, as well as created rules, by laws, and constitutions to run those organizations.