Research Guides: WRPR 161: Written on the Body (HC): Finding Book Chapters

Finding Book Chapters / Essay Collections

Before conducting your search:

Consider how your argument might be broken down into keywords or phrases.

Compile a list of synonyms for those keywords. What other terms might scholars use to talk about your topic, and how do these terms reflect the type of argument scholars are making? (E.g., publishing vs. dissemination)

Consider which intersections among your keywords will be useful for searching

See the Search Tips tab for additional information about searching Tripod and other catalogs.

Finding Books

Use TRIPOD to find books and other material owned by the Tri-College libraries.

Use WorldCat to find books not held by the Tri-College libraries.

In order to find books in either catalog, conduct either a relevant:

Keyword Search:

E.g., "same-sex marriage" AND (law OR legislat*)

"sexual perversion"

"sexual freedom" AND morality

("same-sex marriage" OR "gay marriage") AND normal*

(See the Search Tips tab for more information on how to construct keyword searches.)

Or Subject Search:

E.g., Sexual ethics

Homosexuality—History

Same-sex marriage [full list, Tripod]

Same-sex marriage [Broad subject heading]

Same-sex marriage—Cross-cultural studies

Same-sex marriage—Handbooks, manuals, etc.

(Use the Browse Books & More link or use the Advanced Search function [limited to the subject field] to find additional subject headings.)

Tripod: Books & More
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.

Search Tripod

Selected Books

The Trouble with Normal by Michael Warner
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0684865297
Publication Date: 1999-11-08
Now taking as its "raison d'etre" the fight for gay marriage, gay politics has abandoned its historic fight against the stigmatization of sex. But, as Warner shows, when gays agree to separate their "sex" from their "identity," they are only rewarded with oppressive trends like stricter zoning of gay clubs and businesses, the "Don't Ask/Don't Tell" policy in the military, and, ironically, the "Defense of Marriage" act.
AIDS and Its Metaphors by Susan Sontag
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0374102570
Publication Date: 1989-01-01
Classic work on the social consequences of the metaphors surrounding AIDS.
Hiding from Humanity: disgust, shame, and the law by Martha Craven Nussbaum
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0691095264
Publication Date: 2004-03-08
Nussbaum argues that the thought-content of disgust embodies "magical ideas of contamination, and impossible aspirations to purity that are just not in line with human life as we know it." She argues that disgust should never be the basis for criminalizing an act, or play either the aggravating or the mitigating role in criminal law it currently does. She writes that we should be similarly suspicious of what she calls "primitive shame," a shame "at the very fact of human imperfection," and she is harshly critical of the role that such shame plays in certain punishments.

Tracing Cited References

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Advanced Search allows you to find results by author, article title, publication title and more. Google Scholar covers journal articles in depth but also cites some websites and word documents.

Researchers can often find useful scholarship by identifying one particularly relevant book or article and seeing which sources that text cites. With print texts, this process might involve checking the bibliography. In some databases, you can also trace citations forward in time and find subsequent material that cites a particularly useful resource. Use the following databases to find a relevant resource and then see which later texts cite the one with which you start. Keep in mind, however, that the citations will no be comprehensive—i.e., the citations will often be limited by the scope of the database in which you're working.

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See link for "Items Citing this Item" in the search results or use the "Citation Locator." Note that journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of issues.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Follow these instructions to conduct cited reference searches in Web of Science:
- Choose the "Cited Reference Search tab" to begin.
- Then enter the author's name (last name, then first initial only with asterisk: e.g., smith, b*).
- Insert the publication year in the "Cited Year" box.
- Under "Current Limits," open Citation Databases and uncheck any collections that you want to exclude from your search. (You will most likely want only the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.)
- On the next screen, choose the relevant results based on the "Cited Work" titles. The results screen shows the newest articles first. Check the article summary (if included) to determine the relevance of each resource.