Research Guides: WRPR 161: Written on the Body (HC): Finding Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

Before conducting your search:

Consider how your argument might be broken down into keywords or phrases.

Compile a list of synonyms for those keywords. What other terms might scholars use to talk about your topic, and how do these terms reflect the type of argument scholars are making? (E.g., publishing vs. dissemination)

Consider which intersections among your keywords will be useful for searching

Indentify disciplines that are relevant to your research question. Also consider the ways in which your question might reside outside traditional discplines or cut across them.

See the Search Tips tab for additional information about searching Tripod Articles and other databases.

Searching for Articles

GenderWatch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government and non-governmental organization reports. Materials focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Covers 1970-present.

Begin your search with the relevant subject-specific or multidisciplinary databases listed below. To identify subject-specific databases not listed below, use Research Guides.

Once you have found relevant resources, use the button to get full-text copies the articles.

A separate window will open with links either to a digital copy of the article, a locally available print copy, or an Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries. To request items not held locally, simply enter your name and barcode and submit the request.

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Project Muse journals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.
Women's Studies International
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, newspapers, dissertations and bulletins, in the core areas of women's studies. Subjects include, feminism, women of color, science, health and technology. Includes different women's studies resources. Covers 1972-present.

Literature & Performing Arts

ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.

Philosophy

Philosopher's Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, anthology contributions and book reviews published worldwide. Topics covered include: ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Covers 1940-present. Contains over 328,000 records as of August 2005. Monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries.

Tracing Cited References

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Advanced Search allows you to find results by author, article title, publication title and more. Google Scholar covers journal articles in depth but also cites some websites and word documents.

Researchers can often find useful scholarship by identifying one particularly relevant book or article and seeing which sources that text cites. With print texts, this process might involve checking the bibliography. In some databases, you can also trace citations forward in time and find subsequent material that cites a particularly useful resource. Use the following databases to find a relevant resource and then see which later texts cite the one with which you start. Keep in mind, however, that the citations will no be comprehensive—i.e., the citations will often be limited by the scope of the database in which you're working.

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See link for "Items Citing this Item" in the search results or use the "Citation Locator." Note that journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of issues.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Follow these instructions to conduct cited reference searches in Web of Science:
- Choose the "Cited Reference Search tab" to begin.
- Then enter the author's name (last name, then first initial only with asterisk: e.g., smith, b*).
- Insert the publication year in the "Cited Year" box.
- Under "Current Limits," open Citation Databases and uncheck any collections that you want to exclude from your search. (You will most likely want only the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.)
- On the next screen, choose the relevant results based on the "Cited Work" titles. The results screen shows the newest articles first. Check the article summary (if included) to determine the relevance of each resource.

Reference Resources

Credo Reference
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 reference books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, etc., in various fields including art, law, literature, social sciences, and technology.