Research Guides: Troubled Waters: Tracing Waste in the Delaware River: An Interdisciplinary Documentary Project: Journal Articles

Journal and Magazine Indexes

The databases below allow you to search for journal and magazine articles by subject. When you find a title of interest, if the full text is not immediately available (as in JSTOR and Proquest), use the Find It button to check for Haverford's holdings or request articles that are not available locally. See the Search Tips tab for examples of ways to develop terminology and construct search statements.

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles publishing material in all areas of environmental studies. The database has over 300,000 records including these two examples: Source Apportionment of Polychlorinated Biphenyls in the Sediments of the Delaware River (2013) and Monitoring the Tidal Delaware River for Ambient Toxicity (2011).
Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research tool for identifying articles in 300+ radical and left journals, magazines, and newspapers. Includes US and global publications, in English and other languages.
EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts to economic journals, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Coverage 1969-present.
Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines as far back as 1963. Includes Social Services Abstracts journals.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journals in political science and related fields including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Covers 1975-present.

Tracking Citations Forward in Time

Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand.
Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available. This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic. By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When you connect, choose the Cited Reference Search tab to begin.
Enter the author's name: Last name first First name initial only with asterisk
Skip Cited Title box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year box
Under Current Limits, open Citation Databases and uncheck Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Science.
On the next screen choose the relevant results based on the Cited Work titles.
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.

News Sources

Delaware River (State Impact from WITF and WHYY)
A series of investigative reports about environmental issues done by journalists from two public broadcasting stations.
News (LexisNexis Academic)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open "Search the News" box, and change the Source Type to ALL News to include the largest number of documents in your search. This is useful for news about individual companies, sectors of industry, and other issues in business.

Philadelphia Inquirer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The daily newspaper of record for the Philadelphia region. Online coverage 1860 to the present.