Research Guides: Researching US Supreme Court Cases: General Research

Connect to Resources

ProQuest Congressional
The Congressional Research Service publishes an annual report summarizing Supreme Court opinions for each term. Each opinion description includes the citation, date of decision, subjects headings, a short description, and the final vote and opinion authors. Many of these reports are not currently available to the public; however, available CRS reports on the Supreme Court may be found via Proquest Congressional.

To search CRS Reports, select Advanced Search under "Congressional Publications" and select "CRS Reports." Search by keyword or subject. (Description from Georgetown Law Library Research Guide.)

SCOTUSblog
Official blog of the US Supreme Court, useful for staying up-to-date.

Supreme Court Yearbook
Find Supreme Court cases related to topics such as elections, environment, and family. Provides a detailed overview of each case since 1990.

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Provides annotated bibliographies covering 50+ topics in political science. You can use bibliographies to prioritize what to read first.

• See this bibliography: The Supreme Court of the United States (Carol Nackenoff)

Constitutional Law Research Guide (SC)
Research Guide prepared for POLS 024/105 course at Swarthmore
Annual review of political science
Covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher
Original reporting and analysis on issues in the news, focusing on the economy, education, the environment, health, international affairs, social trends, and technology. Published weekly, 1991-present. Includes reports from CQ Global Researchers for more international content.
Oxford Handbooks in Political Science
Complete searchable texts of the Oxford handbooks in political science containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading. Many of the volumes are also available in print in Tripod.

ProQuest Criminal Justice Database
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. (Includes articles published from 1969-present.)

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Index
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, intergovernmental, and private organizations reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1915-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts of journals in political science and related fields including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Covers 1975-present.
ProQuest Political Science Database
Provides access to over 240 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides full-text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Coverage from 1985 to present.