Journal alerts can be set up with the website JournalTOCs, directly from the journal website (with the publisher), or with a database that indexes that journal.
Keep in mind that there will be a delay between the time the new issue is published and the time you receive the alert if using a database or third party website. If you need the content immediately, use the journal website alert service instead.
We recommend using the website JournalTOCs (http://www.journaltocs.ac.uk) to set up table of contents alerts for journals. It's free and easy to use, and you can manage multiple journal alerts from different publishers under one user account.
If a journal is not available from JournalTOCs, follow the instructions below for setting up Web of Science and journal website alerts.
You can also use a journal index in a library database to set up alerts. For journals we subscribe to, you can easily link to the full-text article from the alert:
Web of Science
1. Launch Web of Knowledge from Tripod or Databases A-Z.
2. Expand the databases menu at the top of the screen and select Web of Science Core Collection:
3. Choose Publication Name from the search bar drop down menu and click Select from Index:
4. Either browse alphabetically for a journal or search for the title. For long titles, use just 2-3 key words from the title:
5. Once the journal is located in the index, click the Add button:
6. Click OK in the message box at the bottom of the screen:
7. Your browser should return to the Web of Science search screen with your journal title in the search box. Click the Search button.
8. In the results screen, click the Create Alert button.
7. Sign into your Web of Knowledge account. If you do not have one, create one for free using the email address at which you would like to receive your alert.
8. Give your alert a name.
9. Under Type, choose the kind of bibliographic record you want to receive in your alert.
10. Email format can be set to plain text (default), fully formatted HTML, or EndNote file format if you are an EndNote user.
11. Set the frequency to Weekly for journal alerts. You will receive alerts even when no new content is available. Note: there will be a delay from the time the new journal issue is published to the time that it is added to the database.
12. Click Save.
13. Web of Science alerts are good for up to 1 year, after which they must be renewed.
EBSCOhost
Click here for instructions on setting up alerts in EBSCOhost databases like AnneĢe philologique, Art Idex, or GreenFILE.
You can set up table of contents alerts for a journal right on the publisher's website. This is a good option if the journal you want to follow is not indexed in Web of Science, or if you want to receive an alert at the moment a new issue is published. The downside is that if you want alerts from several different journals from separate publishers, you need to create a user account with each publisher.
Here are two examples, one from a Wiley journal land another froma Taylor & Francis journal:
