Research Guides: ENGL 070: Poetry Project: Research and Development (SC): Science-Related Resources

Accessible Science

Granted there are innumerable routes into finding evocative scientific literature and language, here are a few routes. In the first box is Accessible Science, resources for readable stories and summaries of scientific findings. Browse or delve a little deeper into a topic of interest. The second box is Bewildering Science, resources that might lead you to terrain less familiar and resources that might be generative because of impenetrability. The third box suggests Historical Resources, where one might go to consider older depictions of the scientific process in action, often filled with rich imagery, ornate language, and early articulations of emerging viewpoints.

Oxford English Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume OED, 2nd edition, published in 1989. Presents the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense, history, pronunciation, and etymology. Coverage current.

New York Times: Science Section
The New York Times or any major newspaper with a dedicated science section is another way to discover new research.
Radiolab
Episodes from Radiolab, the public radio show from WNYC, curate some of the most interesting ideas from science, both past and present. From the website, you can trace back the ideas in the shows to their scholarly sources.
Science Friday
Science Friday is NPR's weekly science radio show -- a source synthesizing current research that you might use for references and citations.

BrowZine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from your university or college library, or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines.

Bewildering Science

*** The lost art of serendipity! I encourage you to poke around Cornell Science Library or at the discipline specific Research Guides for resources in the sciences that may be unfamiliar, or perhaps downright unintelligible, to you.

Google Patents
Search and read the full text of patent grants and applications from around the world -- meaning, all the patents, the entire history of patents.
Cold Spring Harbor Featured Protocols
These protocols are freely available from CSH's interdisciplinary journal of research methods. The protocols are current and presented in an easy-to-follow format.

Historical Science

HathiTrust
A stunning range of materials including historical scientific journals.
Internet Archive eBooks & Texts
The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 8,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks. Including historical scientific articles and books.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of books, magazines, and other materials published in the 19th century. This is a collection in development. Materials now in the database cover Asia and the West, British politics and society, high and popular culture in Britain, and European literature.