ENGL 070: Poetry Project: Research and Development (SC)

The Academy Library and Archives is internationally recognized for its extraordinarily rare and historic books, journals, art, artifacts, manuscripts, photographs, and the unique papers and research of Academy members and staff.

The African American Museum in Philadelphia collects and preserves art and artifacts that document the history and culture of African Americans and people of the African Diaspora.

The American Philosophical Society Library is a major national center for research in the history of the sciences, medicine, and technology.

The Philadelphia History Museum houses several special collections. Together, they provide a broad perspective of three centuries of culture and life in the city.

The Historical Society of Pennsylvania is one of the largest family history libraries in the nation, has excellent collections on local and regional history, and offers a manuscript collection renowned for its 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century holdings.

Founded in 1963, ICA has developed an international reputation as a preeminent venue for contemporary art and culture.

The Library Company’s holdings include over half a million rare books, pamphlets, manuscripts, and graphics documenting every aspect of American history and culture through the end of the 19th century.

The Museum's collection consists of more than thirty thousand items. Some prominent pieces on display are the George Washington's Masonic apron and Brother Benjamin Franklin's 1779 Masonic sash.

The Mütter Museum has a unique collection of specimens and objects that reflect the human history of anatomy and medicine. Our collection ranges from seventh century BCE to 2014, although the majority of our collection dates from the mid-19th century to the early 20th century.

The National Archives at Philadelphia maintains the historically significant records of the Federal Agencies and Courts, in Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia, dating from 1789 to the present.

The Museum’s artifact collection represents the broad spectrum of American Jewish life and illustrates such universal themes as immigration, worship, hard work, entertainment, and community and family life.

The Archives of PAFA offer a variety of records, ephemera, photographs, artifacts, and transcripts that chronicle the institution’s rich history since its founding in 1805.

The material collections housed at the Kislak Center include more than 350,000 books and 15,000 linear feet of manuscripts in a wide range of disciplines and formats, from medieval manuscripts to twenty-first century artists' books.

The Institute has an extensive library of primarily scientific works collected by the founder, and over the course of its history. Dating from the late 17th to the early 20th century, the collection covers the natural and physical sciences, education, medicine, archaeology and anthropology, the pseudo-sciences, instrument building, and engineering.

A grab bag of American History related digitized collections.