Skip to main content

CTY: Center for Talented Youth Library Resources (HC)

Center for Talented Youth Summer 2017

Tripod

Tripod is a catalog and discovery tool for the Haverford, Bryn Mawr and Swarthmore College libraries.  

Tripod Books and More catalogs the books, book chapters, journals (but not the articles in them), videos, reports, and online resources that the three schools own or can access.   

Tripod Articles indexes millions of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  Many of them are available in full-text.  It also includes articles not available at Haverford but these can be requested for delivery to your email address.

You can search both parts of Tripod with a single search, or use them independently.  

        

Tips for Using Tripod Books and More

1.  Tips for the basic search

Put titles in quotation marks for more precise results

Use wild cards to search variations in spelling

For a single character use the ? symbol:   m?n   searches   man and men

For multiple characters use the * symbol:   immigra*  searches  immigrant/s, immigration        

Use the Journal Title option when looking for a magazine, newspaper, or journal

2.  Tips for the advanced search


Combine different search types, like Keyword and Author/Creator, for more focused results

Subject searching: Find a relevant title in a keyword search. Go to the list of subjects and choose one to search.  Each part of the subject phrase is independently linked.  Click on the last word to get the full subject.

3.  Working with results

Filters on the right side focus results into smaller groups by college, collection, format, and other categories

Results are sorted by relevance, but there are other options.  Date Descending is a handy way to see the newest titles.

 

Library FAQ

1) Where can I get some help?

You can contact subject librarians by email or phone at Magill, the music library, and the science library: details

You can also find librarians in their offices.

 

2) I came across a journal article on the Web, but it costs money.  What should I do?

First check the Tripod catalog for the name of the journal.  You may be able to access the full text of the article there through a subscription that Haverford College maintains.  

 

3) What kinds of resources does the library have for cultural enrichment?

DVDs and CDs that you can check out are listed in the Tripod catalog.  See also the list of digitized music resources.

The comic book and graphic novel collection is in Magill Library on the basement level.   There are more graphic novels on the fourth tier: PN 6720- PN 6790. The browsing book collection and popular magazines are on Magill's main floor. 

Music and videos are available through the catalog and the Entertainment Zone site.  For more details about these and related collections, see the library website.