Skip to main content

CTY: Center for Talented Youth Library Resources (HC)

Center for Talented Youth Summer 2017

Hands on Use

Haverford College Special Collections

Special Collections at Haverford College has rich holdings of Quaker history and literature; Haverford College history; literature (including Shakespeare, nineteenth century American literature, and Don Quixote); history of science; United States history, particularly the Philadelphia area, abolition, and Native Americans; history of printing; relief work and aid, particularly in the World War I and World War II eras; and Asian history and culture, particularly Quaker interactions with Japan.

Special Collections is located in Haverford College's Magill Library and is open to all. Interested researchers can visit Special Collections in person or contact us at hc-special@haverford.edu or (610) 896-1161. More information for visitors and about our collections is also available via our website.  Please come visit us in Magill Library to see rare materials of use to you and your students.

Some items in Special Collections have been digitized. The guides below will note when material is available digitally as well as in our collections.

Guides to Haverford College Special Collections Material

These are guides to specific research topics on which Special Collections has a significant amount of relevant material.  Use these guides to get an idea of the kinds of things available.

To find additional materials from Special Collections, including photographs and other kinds of art, see this page with links to local databases and suggestions for search strategies.