Research Guides: Virgil Burnett Collection (HC): Pasdeloup Press

Pasdeloup Press Books

In the 1960s, Virgil Burnett opened his own printing press called Pasdeloup Press. It specialized in poetry, fiction, and artist biographies. Burnett particularly published biographies and tributes through his press on his artistic mentors.

The Liquid Hour by Barber, Bruce
Publication Date: 2005

Book of poems by Bruce Barber. Published by Pasdeloup Press. Cover and interior collages by Michel Christensen.
H Special Collection 845
Reflections: Alan Boegehold poems, George d'Almeida paintings by Boegehold, Alan
Publication Date: 2010

Published by Pasdeloup press, edited by Virgit Burnett. Poems reflect themes of desire, self-destruction, and passion.
H Special Collection 845
A Catafalque for David Hill by Burnett, Virgil
Publication Date: 1986

A tribute to David Hill, an American artist of Dutch parentage. A collection of memoirs, poems, and notes alongside photos of David Hill's paintings. Edited and compiled by Virgil Burnett in collaboration with Anne Pippin Burnett, Robin Magowan, Joseph Plaskett.
H Special Collection 845
Edward Melcarth - A Hercynian Memoir by Burnett, Virgil
Publication Date: 1995

Tribute to Edward Melcarth, an influential Social Realist painter and writer who Burnett studied under at Columbia. A collection of his work compiled by Virgil Burnett.
H Special Collection 845
Heroides by Burnett, Virgil
Publication Date: 2003

Published by Pasdeloup Press. A book of Virgil Burnett's terracotta sculptures of the female form. Series of erotic sculptures with comical, irreverent names.
H Special Collection 845
Le Roi S'amuse by Burnett, Virgil
Publication Date: 1966

First book published by Burnett's own Pasdeloup Press. Includes cover illustrations, 13 smaller drawings with the text. Black-and-white fine drawings that depict the degenerate fantasies of the forgotten king. This story later became "King folly" an episode in Burnett's Towers at the edge of a world.
H Special Collection 845
Byron's Manfred by McGann, Jerome
Publication Date: 2009

Cover art and illustrations by Virgil Burnett. Published by Pasdeloup Press. Design and layout by Karl Griffiths-Fulton. Cover illustration in private collection of Pat Elderedge.
H Special Collection 845
A Savaging of Roots by English, Maurice
Publication Date: 1974

Published by Pasdeloup Press. Book of poems chosen from the volume, The Body of the World. Cover and 5.5 textual illustrations, black line drawings on blue paper.
H Special Collection 845
The Damnation of Byron by Hope, A.D.
Publication Date: 1973

Book of poems by A.D. Hope, published by Pasdeloup Press. 3 full page, black/white/orange illustrations, plus 6 black-and-white drawings with the poem text.
H Special Collection 845
Four Last Poems by McGann, Jerome
Publication Date: 1996

Cover image is after a terracotta sculpture by Virgil Burnett of a woman enmeshed in/emerging from an old scroll.
H Special Collection 845
The Book of Joe: Joseph Plaskett and the Art of Painting by Plaskett, Joe; Burnett, Virgil; Barber, Bruce
Publication Date: 2006

Edited by Bruce Barber and Virgil Burnett. Book of tributes to Joseph Plaskett. Printed and bound by Pandora Press Kitchener, Ontario. Set in Garamond and Perpetua.
H Special Collection 845