Virgil Burnett Collection (HC)

Written and illustrated by Burnett. A novel about a romance in drawing class. Includes a small cover detail and 22 small drawings at the beginning of each chapter that resemble drawing exercises.
H Special Collection 845

Fantasy based on Virgil Burnett's reading of Ovid. A collection of lustful fantasies. Includes cover illustration and 5 full page, detailed illustrations by Burnett of each of the characters: Pasiphae, Daedalus, Asterius, Theseus, Ariadne.
H Special Collection 845

Written and illustrated by Virgil Burnett, this book is a collection of short stories taking place in Montarnis, a fantasy town in France, from the Dark Ages to the present. The style of the stories is decadent and gothic, expressing a comic literary twist and the darkness of private fantasy. The subject matter is loosely based on a small village in Burgundy that Burnett often visited. . Inside there are 15 full page illustrations that accompany each chapter.
H Special Collection 845

Collection of poems by Daryl Hine on Paris. Edited by Virgil Burnett. Illustrations accompanying poems VI, IX, XII, XVII, the portrait of the poet, and the caricature on the final page are by Burnett. End pages are black and white city maps of Paris. Bound in hardcover with illustrated (in color) dust jacket.
H Special Collection 845

Cover art is after a drawing by Virgil Burnett based on a photograph of the prow of the Oseberg ship (ca. 8000).
H Special Collection 845

Cover art by Virgil Burnett based on late seventh- or early eighth-century carving found at Jedburgh Abbey.
H Special Collection 845