Starting points: Databases for searching multiple newspapers at once
If you'd like to explore a topic or event and see how it has been covered around the world, try searching these databases to explore newspapers, magazines, and newswires.
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 700 newspapers around the globe. Database covers 1977-present.
Use the map to limit your search to particular areas of the world. There are more newspapers in this database for some countries than for others, though, so look carefully.
Full-text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials.
Play around with the (many) news search options in LexisNexis to narrow your search to particular types of publication (e.g. magazines), specific publications, date ranges, and more.
Lexis has a *lot* of great news articles, but it can be tricky to use effectively - don't hesitate to ask Sarah (the librarian for this course) for help!
Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Articles from 1959-present.
Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Archive
Research tool for identifying articles in 300+ radical and left journals, magazines, and newspapers. Includes US and global publications, in English and other languages.
Offers full-text access to scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government and non-governmental organization reports. Materials focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. (Not strictly limited to news sources)
Provides full-text access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News, the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. Contains high-quality color images of all pages, and all text is fully searchable. Offers insight into all areas of culture and world history for the period covered. Covers 1842-2003.
Provides concise, translated,daily briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. Covers 2005-
Contains hundreds of international news for the period 1995-2013. Material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events.
