Research Guides: ANTH 032D: Mass Media & Anthropology (SC): Ideas and Overviews

Anthropology Overviews

These reference works offer reliable background information on anthropological thought and methods. Use these works to find references to secondary sources.

21st century anthropology
Provides overviews of topics and situates them within larger questions in anthropology.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (2010)
Swarthmore students can read this encyclopedia as an ebook. If you're interested in a particular topic (e.g. indigenous knowledge), use the "Search Within" box (located above the table of contents) to find the relevant entry. You'll find more precise results if you enclose the search terms in double quotes "like this."

Need topic ideas? Try browsing some of these books.

Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media by John D. H. Downing (Editor)
Call Number: S McCabe Ref (1st floor) P96.A44 .E53 2011
ISBN: 9780761926887
Publication Date: 2010-10-28
This one-volume encyclopedia features around 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media.

Available as a print book.
Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925 Through 2010 by Vincent Terrace
ISBN: 9780786464777
Publication Date: 2011-10-06
Covers more than 9,350 shows and constitutes the most comprehensive documentation of TV series ever published.

Available as an ebook.
Communication, Cultural and Media Studies by John Hartley
ISBN: 9780415563239
Publication Date: 2011-07-13
This fourth edition of Communication, Cultural and Media Studies: The Key Conceptsis offers explanations of the key concepts, exploring their origins, what they’re used for and why they provoke discussion. The author provides a multi-disciplinary explanation and assessment of the key concepts, from ‘authorship’ to ‘censorship’; ‘creative industries’ to ‘network theory’; ‘complexity’ to ‘visual culture’.

Available as a print book.
Media and Cultural Studies: Keyworks by Meenakshi Gigi Durham (Editor); Douglas M. Kellner (Editor)
Call Number: S McCabe P94.6 .M424 2012
ISBN: 9780470658086
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
An anthology featuring readings related to new media, social networking, feminist media theory, and globalization

Available as a print book.
The SAGE Handbook of Child Development, Multiculturalism, and Media by Mesha L. Ellis; Joy Keiko Asamen; Gordon L. Berry
ISBN: 9781412949156
Publication Date: 2008-06-27
An exploration of the child and multicultural concepts framed by placing emphasis on television and other forms of electronic and print media as some of the most powerful, emerging, and contemporary agents of socialization.

Available as a print book (request from Bryn Mawr).