Research Guides: SOCL 267: Modern Japanese Nation (BMC): Basic Japanese History

Journal Articles

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.

Guides to Japanese History

The Cambridge History of Japan by Delmer M. Brown (Editor); John Whitney Hall (Contribution by); Marius B. Jansen (Contribution by); Madoka Kanai (Contribution by); Denis Twitchett (Contribution by)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1993-07-30
Leading historians contributed thematic essays to this comprehensive history of Japan. Contents include: v. 4. Early Modern Japan; v. 5. Nineteenth Century; v. 6. Twentieth Century.

Subject encyclopedias provide overviews of ideas, people, and events They are a quick way to find out the basic facts and current points of debate. When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, sometimes, primary sources.

The Columbia Guide to Modern Japanese History by Gary D. Allinson
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1999-07-20
Includes an historical narrative and chapters on important topics including military leaders and education. The book concludes with an extensive listing of resources for further reading.
A Companion to Japanese History by William M. Tsutsui (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2007-01-08
Features essay-length overviews on different periods in Japanese history as well as essays on major themes including "Authority and the Individual" and "National Identity and Nationalism."
Japan Encyclopedia by Louis Frederic; Kathe Roth (Translator)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2002-05-31
This reference work includes many brief entries about people, places, and topics. There are also longer overview essays on broad themes including history, literature, geography, and painting.
Routledge Handbook of Japanese Culture and Society by Theodore C. Bestor; Victoria Bestor
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2011-05-13
This collection of essays from 2011 looks at social and cultural issues in contemporary Japan. Topics include social class, race, religion, and popular msuic.