The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan is the essential reference to all facets of Japan past and present. Up-to-date, authoritative and wide-ranging in scope, it covers all the general reader, student, business person, journalist, researcher, tourist or armchair traveller would want to know.
A valuable companion reference Concentrating on the period following Admiral Perry's visit in the 1850's, the encyclopedia examines the historical events, leaders, and societal pressures in the country's recent past that affected Japan's entry into the modern age. Like its companion volume, the encyclopedia covers important political topics, the arts, religion, business, literature, education, journalism, and other major social, cultural, and economic forces.
A useful guide to English-language reference materials on Japan and the Japanese, this selective annotated bibliography is designed for use by information seekers at all levels. It covers topics ranging from art, music, and literature to economics, people and society, politics, religion, and science and technology. Part I covers general reference works, while Part II covers materials on specific subject areas. The guide will also provide a useful collection development tool for librarians who want to strengthen their English-language materials on Japan, an area long neglected.
Reference Books on Asia (Including Japan)
Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture
With more than thirty chronologies covering the nations of East, Southeast, South, and Central Asia, the Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture contains more information on Asian history than any other English-language chronological reference work. Each entry is clearly dated and, unlike most chronologies found in standard history texts, the entries are complete and detailed enough to provide virtually a sequential history of the vast and rich span of Asian cultures.
The Encyclopedia's comparative, cross-cultural approach examines the similarities and differences among Asian nations and religions. The work focuses on Asia in the modern world and contemporary issuest. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia.
Request books (and more) not available in Tripod or via E-ZBorrow for delivery in 2-14 days. No need to specify a library - the ILL staff will find out who owns an item and is likely to lend. The lending library sets the loan period and makes the decision on renewals.
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.