Research Guides: HIST 091: Senior Research Seminar (SC): Finding Scholarly Books & Articles

Connect to Resources

Select the Bryn Mawr; letter B in a red circle

shortcut for your school to access a library resource.

History-Specific Research Tools

America: History and Life
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use to find scholarly journal articles and book reviews on United States and Canadian history
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use to find scholarly journal articles and book reviews on world history, covering topics from 1500-present. (This database excludes articles on US and Canada, except some articles dealing with international relations)

Multi-Disciplinary Research Tools

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Tripod Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Use Tripod to find resources available from the TriCo Libraries.
- Search for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more
Worldcat.org This link opens in a new window
Publicly available version of Worldcat, a catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.
WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is the professional version of Worldcat, called FirstSearch. It's less user-friendly, but more precise once you're used to it.

History Compass (review articles in history)
- This link opens in a new window
History Compass is a journal that published review articles on world and US history. Use review articles to get a sense of the historiography on a topic, and to identify important books and scholars.
Reviews in American History
- This link opens in a new window
Use this journal to find detailed book reviews in American history. These reviews can be helpful for understanding the historiography related to your topic.

Recommended link in Tripod: Project Muse
Handbooks and companions [Tripod search for books]
Look through these Tripod results for books (print and digital) that provide introductions to historical scholarship on different topics

Cambridge Histories Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of e-books; useful starting point for exploring topics

From a given academic book or article, you can find other sources that may be relevant:

Trace back - who does this author cite? (which books, articles, book chapters, authors etc.?)
- Use the bibliography and/or notes - ask a librarian for help finding specific sources you can't seem to track down
Trace forward - who cites this work? (which books, articles, and authors cite the work that you're reading?)
- Search for this work in Google Scholar to see who has cited it. You can also try Web of Science Cited Reference Search for this.