HIST 358: The Self before the Selfie (HC): Primary Sources

This is a remarkable first-person account of Ḥannā Diyāb's travels as a young man from his hometown of Aleppo to the court of Versailles and back again. In Paris, Diyāb met Antoine Galland, who added to his wildly popular translation of the Thousand and One Nights several tales related by Diyāb, including "Aladdin" and "Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves." When Lucas failed to make good on his promise of a position for Diyāb at Louis XIV's Royal Library, he returned to Aleppo.

This anthology provides a thorough introduction to the highpoint of British literary satire with texts from 30 satirists, including 11 women. The contents are expansive: with canonical, texts, less anthologized works by major satirists, and works by writers who have been traditionally excluded from anthologies.

This book was arguably the most influential work on aesthetics published in the eighteenth century. It influenced every major aesthetician in the second half of the century: Diderot, Herder, Hume, Kant, Lessing, Mendelssohn, and others either adopted his views or reacted against them. It is the work generally credited with establishing the modern system of the arts: poetry, painting, music, sculpture and dance.

Reproduces 119 English satirical prints published from 1750 through 1799 along with explanatory notes.

Chloe Chard assembles fascinating passages from late eighteenth-century and early nineteenth-century accounts of travel in Italy, by Northern Europeans, writing in English (or, in some cases, translated into English at the time); 'Tristes Plaisirs' includes writings by Charles Dupaty, Maria Graham, Anna Jameson, Sydney Morgan, Henry Matthews and Hester Lynch Piozzi. The introduction considers some of these responses in relation to the preoccupations and rhetorical strategies of travel writing during the Romantic period and introductory commentaries examine the ways in which the passages take up a series of themes, around which the five chapters are ordered: 'Pleasure', 'Rising and sinking in sublime places', 'Danger and destabilization', 'Art, unease and life', and 'Gastronomy, Gusto and the Geography of the Haunted'.

The Swiss physician, Samuel Tissot, wrote this manual concerning public health and the prevention of disease. The text is a reprint of the 1797 manuscript edition, with glossary, notes and index. It includes facsimiles of original manuscripts.

Collection of primary sources written by 18th century critics. Includes the article "theatrical declamation" by Marmontel (1753), La Déclamation théâtrale, poème didactic en trois cantos by Dorat (1766), Observations on a brochure entitled Garrick or the English actors by Diderot (1770), Letters to Eugénie by the Prince de Ligne (1774), The Elements of the art of the actor by Tournon (1782) and Reflections on theatrical declamation by Mlle Clairon (1798).

The Enlightenment is an authoritative anthology of the key political writings from 'one of the best and most hopeful episodes in the life of mankind'. The texts are supported by a lucid introduction exploring their moral, philosophical, political and economic background, enabling the student to grasp both the context and the essence of each argument. Biographical notes and carefully selected bibliographies offer further help.

This book showcases three Frenchwomen's accounts when such traveling was rare. In 1639, Marie de l'Incarnation embarked for New France where she founded the first Ursuline monastery. In 1750, Madame du Boccage set out for a "grand tour." of Europe. As the Reign of Terror gripped France, the Marquise de la Tour du Pin fled to America with her husband and their two young children, where they ran a farm.

Out of the libertine tradition of 18th-century France emerged over a dozen memoir novels of female libertines who eagerly take up sex work as a means of escape from patriarchal control to pursue pleasure, wealth, and personal independence. In these novels, the heroines proudly declare themselves prostitutes, or putains, and use the desire they arouse, the professional skills they develop, and a network of female friends to exploit, humiliate, and ruin wealthy and powerful men.

Originally published in 1779, Garden at Monceau is a richly illustrated presentation of the garden Louis Carrogis, known as Carmontelle, designed on the eve of the French Revolution for Louis-Philippe-Joseph d'Orléans, duc de Chartres. Carmontelle's portrayal of his work in Garden at Monceau therefore serves as an expression of a key moment in the history of European landscape design, garden architecture, and social history.

This anthology brings together a transnational and multilingual selection of literature about the revolution, from the beginnings of the conflicts that led to it through the end of the nineteenth century. There are over 200 excerpts from novels, poetry, and plays published between 1787 and 1900, and depicting such characters as Anacaona, Makandal, Boukman, Toussaint Louverture, Jean-Jacques Dessalines, and Henry Christophe.

Jaques-Louis Menetra's 'Journal de ma vie' reads like a historian's dream come true...It conveys his understanding of what it meant to grow up in Paris, where he was born in 1738; to tramp around provincial shops on a journeyman's tour de France; to settle down as a Parisian master with a shop and family of his own; and to live through the great events of the Revolution as a militant in his local Section.

A lavishly illustrated manuscript from the 18th century now being published for the first time, Thomas Hammond's memoirs are a major discovery. Hammond was a self-educated but gifted writer with a knack for seizing opportunities for adventure. We follow this abandoned waif as he journeys through foreign lands--working as a stableboy, jockey, servant to French nobles, and itinerant circus rider--only to recover his home and father at the end of his travels. Personal narratives by the eighteenth century's non-elites are exceedingly rare.

This edition publishes for the first time a little-known work on improving England's economy, written around 1706 and presented to Queen Anne on the eve of the parliamentary Union of England and Scotland. As such it contributed to a growing body of writing about managing the economy in Britain. That the work has often been overlooked is partly because its author, Nehemiah Grew, is best known as a botanist and as a medic. But his distinctive voice and decided views warrant wider appreciation.

The eleven essays selected for this volume--nine making their first appearance in English--are drawn from Lejeune's four major studies. Le Pacte autobiographique (1975), Lire Leiris, autobiographique et language (1975), Je est un autre (1980), and Moi aussi (1986). Together, they give the reader an overview of his development as a critic of autobiography and address a wide range of problems.

In 1760, the French playwright Charles Palissot de Montenoy wrote Les Philosophes - a scandalous farcical comedy about a group of opportunistic self-styled philosophers. It emerged in the charged historical context of the pamphlet wars surrounding the publication of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie, and delivered an oblique but acerbic criticism of the intellectuals of the Enlightenment, This book presents the first high-quality English translation of the play, including critical apparatus.

Police in Paris arrested thousands of men for sodomy or similar acts in the eighteenth century. In the mid-1780s, they recorded depositions in which prisoners recounted their own sexual histories. These remarkable documents, curated and translated into English by Jeffrey Merrick, allow us to hear the voices of men who desired men and to explore complex questions about sources, patterns, and meanings in the history of sexuality. Also available in print.

Denis Diderot was one of the most significant figures of the French enlightenment. This volume contains the most important of Diderot's articles for the Encyclopedie, selections from the Histoire des Deux Indes (one of the most widely read books of the pre-revolutionary period), the complete texts of his Supplement au Voyage de Bougainville, and his Observations sur le Nakaz, a precise and detailed political work translated here into English for the first time.

This book introduces its readers to a rich array of British Christian texts published between 1660 and 1750. The anthology documents the arc of Christian writings from the reestablishment of the Church of England to the rise of the Methodist movement in the middle of the eighteenth century. The explosion of mass print culture generated new genres including the modern church hymn and the spiritual autobiography.

After Aphra Behn, Eliza Haywood was the most important English female novelist of the early 18th century. She also edited several serial newspapers, the most important of which, the Female Spectator, was the first modern periodical written by a woman and addressed to a female audience. This fully annotated collection of articles selected from the Female Spectator includes romantic and satiric fiction, moral essays, and social commentary.

First appearing in 1709, Richard Steele's Tatler was an agreeable mixture of information and entertainment, with news from the war abroad, comment on new books and plays, gossip, articles against gaming and duelling, and poetry and fiction.

O'Neil offers both an examination and the first English translation of Les Règlemens des religieuses Ursulines de la Congrégation de Paris. Published in 1705, Regulations is the first system designed for the education of girls. It is also one of the few surviving documents describing the day-to-day operations of early Ursuline schools. In the 18th century, New Orleans Ursulines used the Regulations to establish their schools and teaching methods.

An anthology of contemporary texts illustrating events, daily life and attitudes at Britain's leading Georgian spa.

This is the first English translation of many of Voltaire's key texts from his famous pamphlet war for tolerance, written from 1750 to 1768, originally published under pseudonyms to avoid imprisonment and to educate the average citizen. Included are "The Sermon of Rabbi Akib" (a searing attack on anti-Semitism), a "Prayer to God" (from the famous Treatise on Tolerance), the hugely popular "Catechism of the Honest Man," and other witty, sometimes acerbic pieces that point out the errors in the Bible, the corruption of the clergy, and the faults with religiously-inspired persecutions.

The first translation and publication of sixteen submissions to the notorious eighteenth-century Bordeaux essay contest on the cause of black skin--an indispensable chronicle of the rise of scientifically based, anti-Black racism. Documented on each page are European ideas about who is Black and why. Also available in print.

This anthology gathers together various texts by and about women, ranging from `conduct' manuals to pamphlets on prostitution, from medical texts to critical definitions of women's writing, from anti-female satires to appeals for female equality.

The letters in this book create a narrative across more than a century (1640-1773) and through three generations of the Jeake family, with Samuel Jeake junior and his wife Elizabeth at its center. These letters reveal the important role kinship played in the management of business and to the family's survival during the religious and political upheavals at the end of the 17th century. The letters are accompanied by introductions to each chapter which put the correspondence in context and complete the narrative.