POLS B371: Governing the Self and Others

APSA style is based on Chicago. So, for citation managers (like EasyBib) that do not include an APSA style template it may be useful to format citations in Chicago style and then tweak them manually to conform with APSA guidelines.

Methods of citing archival material vary based on citation style, but all require the same basic elements:

• Name of archival collection
• Name of creator/author of material
• Title or name of document cited (if appropriate)
• Date (if identifiable)
• Publication information (if relevant)
• Box number
• Folder number
• Name of archival repository and geographic location
• Reference code for collection and/or item (if applicable)
• For digital archival material, URL of digitized item

Example Citations

The following citations are for folder 6, box 10 of the Bryn Mawr College Self-Government Association (SGA) records, Pembroke East Dormitory Financial Records.

APA Citation

In-text: (Pembroke East dormitory financial records, 1972-79)

Bibliography: Pembroke East dormitory financial records. (1972-79). Bryn Mawr College Self-Government Association (SGA) records, Bryn Mawr College Libraries Special Collections (Box 10, Folder 6), Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr, PA. BMC-RG-9G.

Chicago Citation

Footnote: Pembroke East dormitory financial records, 1972-79, Box 10, Folder 6, Bryn Mawr College Self-Government Association (SGA) records, Bryn Mawr College Libraries Special Collections, Bryn Mawr College. BMC-RG-9G.

Bibliography: Bryn Mawr College Self-Government Association (SGA) records. Bryn Mawr College Libraries Special Collections. Bryn Mawr College.

MLA Citation

In-text: (Pembroke East dormitory financial records, 1972-79)

Bibliography: Pembroke East dormitory financial records. Box 10, Folder 6. Bryn Mawr College Self-Government Association (SGA) records. Bryn Mawr College Libraries Special Collections, Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr, PA. BMC-RG-9G.

Single Author Book:

Kessel, John H. 1968. The Goldwater Coalition: Republican Strategies in 1964. Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill.

Multi-Author Book:

Sorauf, Frank J., and Paul Allen Beck. 1988. Party Politics in America. 6th ed. Glenview, IL: Scott, Foresman.

Chapter in Editted Volume:

Hermann, Margaret G. 1984. “Personality and Foreign Policy Decision Making: A Study of Fifty-Three Heads of Government.” In Foreign Policy Decision Making, eds. Donald A. Sylvan and Steve Chan. New York: Praeger, 133–152.

Journal Article:

Aldrich, John H. 1980. “A Dynamic Model of Presidential Nomination Campaigns.” American Political Science Review 74 (September): 651–69.

Electronic Journals:

Browning, Tonya. 1997. “Embedded Visuals: Student Design in Web Spaces.” Kairos: A Journal for Teachers of Writing in Webbed Environment 3 (1). http://english.ttu.edu/- kairos/2.1/features/browning/index.html (Accessed October 21, 1997).

Dissertations:

Munger, Frank J. 1955. “Two-Party Politics in the State of Indiana.” Ph.D. diss. [or Master’s thesis.] Harvard University.

Conference Papers:

Mefford, Dwain, and Brian Ripley. 1987. “The Cognitive Foundation of Regime Theory.” Presented at the Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association, Chicago.

APSA Format for In-Text Citations

Trish (1988) sharply disagrees.

“The transmogrifying of mayoral power” (Bailey 1987)

Beaute (1975, 121–25)

(Rex et al. 1985, chaps. 6, 7)

(Barbarosa 1973; 1978)