Research Guides: PEAC 214 : Ethics of Worldbuilding: Science Fiction and Social/Political Theory (HC): Op-eds and Manifestos

Find Op-Ed Pieces

Editorials are opinions or viewpoints on current or controversial issues. Popular databases provide a way to limit your search to editorials. After typing your topic in the search box, select "editorial" in the document type box under "Limit Your Results."

ProQuest (all databases)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest-owned databases at your institution.
New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Coverage from 1851-present.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for archival articles from American mainstream and minority newspapers and other periodicals.
Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WSJ is the largest US newspaper by circulation (as of 2012) with emphasis on business and economic news. It is published in New York City by Dow Jones & Company since July 8, 1889.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original reporting and analysis on issues in the news, focusing on the economy, education, the environment, health, international affairs, social trends, and technology. Published weekly, 1991-present.
Ethnic Newswatch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Articles from 1959-present.

How to Search the Database

Limiting to editorials in the databases

Editorials are a great way to find reasoned opinions on current controversial topics. Use these specialized searches to find full-text editorials in the library's databases.

In ProQuest

In this database, you can use the "Document Type" limiter as outlined in the text and images below:

First, type in your search terms
- Be sure to use quotation marks around specific terms to search the terms as a single concept, rather than two independent words
Here you can also limit to "Full-text" - so you will only see results for articles that you can immediately download.
Based on your topic, you may need to also limit by date to find the most recent articles. Choose an appropriate date range.

Then, as shown in the image below, scroll down on the advanced search page to limit by "Document Type" - choosing "Editorials" from the options before searching.