Research Guides: PEAC 214 : Ethics of Worldbuilding: Science Fiction and Social/Political Theory (HC): Getting Started

Literature Reviews

Literature reviews are a particularly useful resource when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding.

Annual Reviews
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes literature reviews by scholars in various fields in the social sciences and natural sciences. The lit reviews tend to explore a topic in depth. Use the Advanced Search function to find relevant articles, as in the examples below:
Just War Theory: Revisionists Versus Traditionalists (Annual Review of Political Science, 2017)
Transnational Humanitarianism (Annual Review of Anthropology, 2014)
Oxford Bibliographies Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive annotated bibliographies on specific topics in Humanities, social science and natural sciences written by scholars in the field. New essays are added twice a year. Haverford subscribes to many sections of Oxford Bibliographies but not all. Essays relating to the class include:
Global Ethic of Care
Ethics and Morality in International Relations
Human Rights in Latin America
Environmental Peacebuilding

Background Reading on Human Rights

Cambridge Handbook of Human Dignity: Interdisciplinary Perspectives
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This book considers the theoretical and legal conditions for human dignity as a useful notion and analyses a number of conceptual approaches. The book also introduces current debates involving legal implementation, human rights, justice and conflicts, and medicine and bioethics.
Encyclopedia of Global Justice
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia is an international, interdisciplinary, and collaborative project, spanning all the relevant areas related to global justice. More than 500 wide-ranging entries present the latest ideas on this complex subject by authors who are at the cutting edge of inquiry.
Encyclopedia of Transitional Justice
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This 3-volume reference work offers 287 entries written by scholars and practitioners from diverse areas and includes country studies; entries on transitional justice institutions, methods, and practices; examinations of key debates and controversies; and a glossary of relevant terms.
Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers substantial essays by leading experts, giving an overview of the key issues and a "map" of the debates that animate the field. Each chapter features critical analysis of the state of debate, assessing recent work, and advancing the understanding of this developing area.

Political Handbook of the World
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of comprehensive country profiles containing detailed information on each nation's political history, government, leadership structure, elections, and political party system. Also included: profiles of intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.