HLTH 226 Radical Medicine: Health Statistics & Medical Research Studies

This is the official site from NIH for finding clinical trials from 161 countries by condition, location, sponsor, study type (interventional, observational and expanded access) and status. Resources listed on the same page are useful for understanding the process and the language used in clinical trials for a basic understanding in order to be an informed participant.

Statehealthfacts.org is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 700 health topics and is linked to both the Kaiser Family Foundation website and Kaiser Health News.

The Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. The Foundation serves as a non-partisan source of facts, information, and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public. The Foundation is not associated with Kaiser Permanente or Kaiser Industries.

The National Center for Health Statistics is the principal health statistics agency that compiles statistical information to provide a credible, public resource for health information.

The goal of Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) is to provide an overview of key health indicators for local communities. To access a community profile, select a state and county name on the left navigation bar and select display data.
In addition to the web pages, community profiles can be displayed on maps or downloaded in a brochure format.

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the world’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984. This is a state-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. For many states, the BRFSS is the only available source of timely, accurate data on health-related behaviors.

Provides information on the size and distribution of our population.

The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information.
An important report is the World Health Report, published annually. You can find the core health indicators for countries here.

OECD iLibrary contains limited statistics and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF)

A one-stop data source for health, nutrition and population indicators from various national and international data sources. It provides direct access to more than 100 indicators, with time series for countries and country groups from 1960 to the most recent year, where data are available.

A useful directory provided by the US Census Bureau.