Research Guides: GREK 350: Poetics and Poiesis: Philosophy, Performance, and the Crafts (HC): Criticism

Finding Scholarly Studies in Books

Use the Tripod catalog This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Bryn Mawr, and Swarthmore.

The following searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a keyword search in the Tripod Catalog to find relevant materials and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books. Note that all these searches are in the Books+Media channel. In examples #2 and 4 below, using keywords (rather than subjects) will pick up results from chapter titles.

aesthetics ancient AND art [Keyword search] Limited to publications 2000-2020

theater* (greece OR greek) (perform* OR actor*) [Keyword]

"greek drama (tragedy) history and criticism" [Subject] Newest titles first

aristotle AND poetics [Subject]

Beyond the Tri-College Collections

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries throughout the United States and around the world.

An important place to look for many materials not owned by the Tricollege Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 1 billion titles owned by libraries around the world. Many of these items are available to you though interlibrary loan. Use the button to place requests.

Finding Criticism in Journals

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings and essays in collections on many different subjects relating to Classical Studies including philosophy, history and literature. Covers 1928-present.
See this list for the abbreviations used for each journal indexed in the database.

Philosopher's Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews published worldwide. Topics covered include: aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and history. Covers publications from 1940 to the present.

Gnomon Online
This online index is maintained by the venerable German journal Gnomon. It allows you to search by title word, author, and journal name, as well as by subject terms established in the Thesaurus in both German and English.
Note that the citations listed represent only 15% percent of the total listings in the Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank (which is not accessible in the three colleges).

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new window
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.

Tracking Citations Forward in Time

Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand. Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available.

This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic. By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

See this tutorial for more information on cited reference searching.

Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When you connect, choose the Cited References option to begin.
Enter the author's name: Last name first, First name initial only with asterisk (e.g., Smith J*)
Skip Cited Work box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year(s) box
On the next screen, sort the results by Cited Work, choose the relevant results and hit "See Results."
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.
Use the search box and filters on the left to refine your results. See the variety of ways in which you can sort results and add a further keyword. Note also the References link on the far right. It gives you an immediate view of the bibliographies from the Cited References you have just found.

Google Scholar
To search for cited references in Google Scholar, enter the title of the article or book in quotation marks.
In the results list, check the link Cited by [number] for material citing the title you have entered.
Bonus Google Scholar includes books in its results. Web of Science results are limited to journal articles only.

Finding Book Reviews

Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Classical Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes only book reviews, averaging 90 full-length reviews per issue. The viewpoints are generally critical and informed.