Research Guides: GREK 350: Poetics and Poiesis: Philosophy, Performance, and the Crafts (HC): Art History

Art History

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.

Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In addition to the 8 print volumes for the Lexicon, the LIMC Foundation puts much material related to iconoography online. The foundation website serves as a complement to the print volumes with detail on objects and recent scholarship.

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).

Parthenon Frieze
This reconstruction of the sculptures on the Parthenon has been done by Columbia University. Effort has been made to indicate the narrative flow on each side of the temple. See also the Acropolis Frieze site from the Acropolis Museum.
Pottery Database
The Beazley Archive at the University of Oxford maintains this extensive database (over 130, 000 images) on ancient Greek vases. It is searchable by theme, type of vase, inscription, painter, technique (e.g., white ground), and collection.
The Beazley Archive's Classical Art Research Centre has many other resources included the digitized Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum and a merged database that draws on 22 separate files including the Pottery Database.