GREK 350: Poetics and Poiesis: Philosophy, Performance, and the Crafts (HC)

This volume offers broad coverage of the subject from Hellenistic times to the sixth century AD. Topics include Aristotle and the Stoa, Andronicus of Rhodes and the construction of the Aristotelian corpus, the return to Aristotle in the first century BC, and the role of Alexander of Aphrodisias and Porphyry in the transmission of Aristotle's philosophy to Late Antiquity.

The contributors to this volume do not attempt to disguise the nature of Aristotle's difficulty, but at the same time they offer a clear exposition of the central philosophical concerns. Approaches vary and the editor has not imposed any single interpretation, but has rather allowed differences of interpretation to stand.

This volume reflects the broad range of activity Aristotelian studies comprise today: from the primarily textual and philological to reception, textual exegesis and criticism.

Presents a synoptic view of the arts, which crosses traditional boundaries and explores the aesthetic experience of the ancients across a range of media-oral, aural, visual, and literary. Raises questions about the similarities and differences between ancient and modern ways of thinking about the place of art in society. Also available in print in Tripod.

Handbook dealing with the art, material culture and history of the ancient Greek world. Includes chapters on Chronology and Topography, as well as Workshops and Technology. Print copies also available in Tripod.

In no other art of antiquity do we come closer to the visual experience of the ancient Greeks, or are we able to observe so clearly their views on life, myth, and art. Boardman describes the processes of identifying artists, the methods of making and decorating the vases, and the life of the potters' quarter in Greek towns.

This Handbook seeks to explore key aspects of Greek and Roman art and architecture, and to assess the current state of the discipline. The Handbook is divided into five sections: Pictures from the Inside, Greek and Roman Art and Architecture in the Making, Ancient Contexts, Post-Antique Contexts, and Approaches. Together.

Offers specially commissioned essays from leading scholars which give critical examinations of wide-ranging debates about Sophoclean drama.

Offers an up-to-date assessment of Euripides, drawing from the most recently published texts, commentaries, and scholarship, and offering detailed discussions and current interpretations of his extant plays and fragments. A dedicated section focuses on the reception of Euripidean drama during the Hellenistic age and later eras. Print copy also available in Tripod.

Provides readers with a fundamental grounding in Greek tragedy, and also introduces them to the various methodologies and the lively critical dialogue that characterize the study of Greek tragedy today. Takes into account socio-political, textual, and performance aspects of Greek tragedy. Print copies also available in Tripod.

Updated and translated version of the standard encyclopedia for Antiquity, Paulys Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. Articles are extensive and often address the topic in general before analyzing the issues in Greece and in Rome specifically. Bibliographies list books, essays, and journal articles for further reading.
There are also additional series published with the encyclopedia, including a five-volume set on the classical tradition and an ongoing series of supplements:
1) Chronologies of the Ancient World
2) Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts
3) Historical Atlas of the Ancient World
4) Reception of Myth and Mythology
5) Reception of Classical Literature
6) History of Classical Scholarship - A Biographical Dictionary
7) Figures of Antiquity and Their Reception in Art, Literature and Music
8) The Reception of Antiquity in Renaissance Humanism
9) The Early Mediterranean World, 1200-600 BC
10) History and Culture of Byzantium
All Pauly volumes available in print at HVC.
Connect to BMC's supplement volumes online.

Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Classical Dictionary offers over 6,000 articles covering Greek and Roman literature, history, myth, religion, art, gender and science.