WRPR 150: Crossing Borders (HC)

Also includes the constitution of the Free Produce Society of Philadelphia as well as a list of groceries and dry goods available at George Taylor's Philadelphia store.

Members of the Allinson family were involved in the abolition movement, and the collection includes materials from their membership in the New Jersey Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery, mostly from the late 18th century, as well as manumissions of enslaved people. Some of the correspondence, particularly that of Samuel Allinson, also deals with issues of slavery.

1843

The by-laws of the association affiliated with the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting.

The collection includes letters from George W. Taylor to Smith Battey and Isaac Steere which discuss his free produce business in Philadelphia; some invoices are also included.

This book of minutes covers 1845 to 1852 for the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting Free Produce Association.

"at a Free Produce Meeting of Friends held at their MeetingHouse in Newport, R. I., 6th Mo. 16th, 1851, by adjournment from last year."

"At a meeting holden in Friends Meeting house in Newport for the purpose of promoting the disuse of articles the produce of the labor of slaves."

"Published by the Managers of the Free Produce Association of Friends of Ohio Yearly Meeting" in 1851.

We hold the reports for both 1853 and 1855.

This collection contains correspondence and diaries of Samuel Rhoads, who was active in a number of reform causes. He was one of three publishers of The Non-Slaveholder, a Philadelphia monthly which appeared from 1846 to 1854. He was also a founder of the Friends of Philadelphia Free Produce Association.

This British broadside does not specifically address the Free Produce movement, but expresses many similar ideas.

This collection includes letters to George Washington Taylor, a Philadelphia storekeeper active in the abolition movement and one of the publishers of the magazine The Non-Slaveholder.

Includes letters, bylaws, reports, and minutes of the Free Produce Association of the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting from 1845 to 1851. George Washington Taylor was one of its founders.

This essay was written by Elihu Burritt.

Includes the constitution of the Free Produce Association as well as financial information for 1846.