Research Guides: Genealogy and Ancestry.com: Quaker Genealogy

Resources for Quaker Genealogical Research

Quaker & Special Collections, Haverford College
The website for the Quaker Collection at Haverford College which holds the meeting records for Philadelphia Orthodox monthly meetings, the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting (PYM) before 1828, and Orthodox yearly meeting records after 1828
Friends Historical Library, Swarthmore College
The website for Friends Historical Library of Swarthmore College which holds the meeting records for Phila delphia Hicksite monthly meetings and Hicksite records after 1828.
Guide to the Records of Philadelphia Yearly Meeting
Learn what records exist for every meeting that has ever existed in Philadelphia Yearly Meeting and where they are located today.
Guide to the Records of Baltimore and Virginia Yearly Meetings
Find an inventory of the records that exist for monthly meetings within Baltimore and Virginia Yearly Meetings. Meetings in central and western Pennsylvania will be found here.
Published Indexes of the Records of Quaker Meetings within Philadelphia Yearly Meeting
A list of published indexes of the records of Quaker Meetings in Delaware, New Jersey and Pennsylvania
New York Yearly and Monthly Meetings inventory
The inventory of meeting records within New York Yearly Meeting (NYYM).
Name Index for New York Meetings
An online master name index to the records of New York Yearly Meeting, current to 2001.
Quaker Meetings Index
Monthly Meetings in North America: A Quaker Index is a great site for determining the names and affiliations of monthly meetings by state and county. It also includes the dates of establishment of each monthly meeting and a listing of LDS microfilm numbers.
Family Papers at the Quaker Collection, Haverford College
Links to a list of finding aids to manuscript collections including many family papers.
Family Papers at the Friends Historical Library, Swarthmore College
Links to a list of the collections of personal and family papers available for research.
Dictionary of Quaker Biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brief biographies of selected Quakers with citations that lead to further research. This resource is strong in 18th Century and British Quakers.

The William Wade Hinshaw index by Hinshaw, William Wade
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Quaker Reference BX7720.I64 H665
See below, also available online at Ancestry.com

The Quaker Calendar
This page explains the peculiarity around Quaker dates, and includes a date convertor at the bottom for your use!
James E. Hazard Index
Records of New York Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends - an index completed by James E. Hazard in 2005

Using the Hinshaw Index and and Encyclopedia

William Wade Hinshaw's Index and and Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy, often referred to as "The Hinshaws," consists of six volumes, each comprising of a different region:

Volume I: North Carolina Yearly Meeting (and supplement) (North and South Carolina, Georgia and Tennessee)2
Volume II: New Jersey and Pennsylvania Monthly Meetings
Volume III: New York Monthly Meetings
Volumes IV & V: Ohio Yearly Meetings
Volume VI: Virginia Yearly Meeting
Indexes

These can be searched for free on HathiTrust:

Hinshaw volumes: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000859833
Hinshaw Indexes: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008369916 (search only)

Or browsed and searched via Ancestry.com

Hinshaw volumes: https://www.ancestryinstitution.com/search/collections/3753/
Hinshaw indexes: https://www.ancestryinstitution.com/search/collections/2705/

Using the Hinshaws:

The Indexes will help you figure out which volume you need to use. They are alphabetical, and there may be more than one entry per person.
1. The result will show as "[Last name], [First Name and middle initial] [volume number, page number]"
2. For example: "Brooke, Edna IV, 1323"
Keep this information and find the volume you are looking for. The volume I am looking for is IV: Ohio Yearly Meetings
1. Once you have your volume, turn to the page number.
2. Search the page for the name you are searching for.
3. For example: Edna Brooke, the daughter of William and Rizpah, was born December 22, 1876, and married Joseph A. Jolly, October 22, 1903.

For more information, please see this guide from Guilford College Quaker Collections: Hinshaw Index to Quaker records