Research Guides: ENVS/ICPR 205: Queer Ecologies: Occupying Space and Time in Disorderly Bodies (HC): Reports and Data

Reports and Papers from Think Tanks and Researchers

Global Go to Think Tanks, 2017
James McGann at the University of Pennsylvania ranks public policy organizations each year. The report organizes ranking by the world and by region in addition to rankings by area of research.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
This organization makes conference papers searchable and provides full text access to many of them. SSRN collects conference papers, journal article pre-prints and working papers in the social sciences. This is a good place to find very recent material.

Pertinent papers include:
Gender and Urban Space.
Annual Review of Sociology, Vol. 40, pp. 581-598, 2014
Posted: 03 Aug 2014
Daphne Spain, University of Virginia

It's Not Just Shopping, Urban Lofts, and the Lesbian Gay-By Boom: How Sexual Orientation Demographics Can Inform Family Courts.
Posted: 10 Aug 2008
Todd Brower
Western State University College of Law

Gentrification and Residential Mobility in Philadelphia.
FRB of Philadelphia Working Paper No. 15-36
Number of pages: 50 Posted: 19 Oct 2015
Lei Ding, Jackelyn Hwang and Eileen Divringi

Finding Statistics

Statistics and demographic information can play a key role in social analysis. A vast and complex array of statistical information is available, mostly online. Journal articles and reports on your topic can often provide footnote evidence for the statistical sources that will be most helpful.

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Provides population, housing, economic and geographic data from the latest Decennial Census, the Economic Censuses and Surveys, and the American Community Survey. Users can view reference maps and create comparison tables and thematic maps which can be downloaded and printed. Coverage varies.

Data.gov
Data.gov provides access through a searchable catalog to U.S. government data. The broad range of topic areas reflects the mandate of U.S. government agencies to capture data in their varied areas of responsibility.
Pennsylvania State Data Center
The official source for population and economic statistics for the state.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap includes a range of indicators from the census tract level through the state level about communities. The ability to combine income and education levels along with demographic and quality of life measures allows for identification and interpretations of neighborhoods.

Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to reports and interactive maps for the U.S. Census (1790-present). It allows you to define the geographic area of interest down to the census block level and select among pre-set social and demographic categories. A project of Queens College, sponsored by the New York Times and the National Science Foundation.