Research Guides: ENVS/ICPR 205: Queer Ecologies: Occupying Space and Time in Disorderly Bodies (HC): Background

Resources on MOVE

Philadelphia & MOVE
Rich and thoughtful collections of sources which contextualize the event and its aftermath. Created and maintained by librarians at the Community College of Philadelphia.
Urban Archive, Temple University
Temple has many MOVE photographs and documents digitized. It also houses the archival copies of the special investigation MOVE Commission records.

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

The following sources provide overviews of issues and people for background concerning Philadelphia. They are a quick way to find out the basic facts and current points of debate. When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, frequently, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable.

Encyclopedia of Greater Philadelphia
See related articles including:
"Gayborhood"
and five other articles under LGBT.
Encyclopedia of Philadelphia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Three-volume reference work written in the 1930s.
Invisible Philadelphia: Community through Voluntary Organizations
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Very helpful for learning about ethnic groups, social movements, and other aspects of Philadelphia history.

Philadelphia Architecture by John Andrew Gallery
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781589881105
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Provides more than three hundred descriptions and photographs. Spanning more than three hundred years, these great buildings characterize Philadelphia as unique among American cities, comprising, as they do, nearly every style of architecture found in the United States.

West Philadelphia Community History Center
Varied and detailed histories of the area, its neighborhoods and individuals.

Philadelphia Neighborhoods

Researching Neighborhoods

City and Area Directories
Searchable by personal name and by street address (use the Keyword search box). Be sure to add Philadelphia to the Location box and check Exact. Very useful for seeing a changes in use and ownership over time for a specific location.
City of Philadelphia. Property
Query this database for recent information on individual addresses including property owner names, values of property and taxes.
Greater Philadelphia GeoHistory Network
Rich collection of historic maps allowing for interactive viewing and browsing by type of map and date. Note also the search by address.
How to Research the History of a House [in Philadelphia]
This guide from the Philadelphia Free Library outlines in detail the sources of information available.
Philadelphia Architects and Buildings
Features a database with information on over 250, 000 buildings.
Philadelphia Historic Streets Index
Indicates changes in street names across time.
Philadelphia Neighborhoods: Histories, Plans and Futures
Digitized reports, plans and maps from the Philadelphia Planning Commission 1946 to 1990.
PhillyHistory.org
Search for photos and documents by address, neighborhood or keyword.
University City Historical Society
Note in particular the street by street inventory lists on the home page.

Subject Guide

Karen Viars

Email Me

Subjects: Africana & Black Studies, History, Political Science

News

Philadelphia Daily News (Philadelphia, PA)
Covers 1978-present.

Philadelphia Inquirer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The daily newspaper of record for the Philadelphia region. Online coverage 1860 to the present.
Philadelphia Tribune
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is the oldest continually running African-American newspaper, created in 1884 by Christopher James Perry, Jr. Coverage: 1912 to the present.

Philadelphia Gay News
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected back issues of this newspaper from 1976-2006 are available in the database Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940. There are additional documents concerning Philadelphia in the database including documents and photos.