CSTS 217: Unruly Bodies: Narratives of Disability in Greece and Rome (HC)

This volume is designed as a companion to the standard undergraduate mythology textbooks or, when assigned alongside the central Greek and Roman works, as a source-based alternative to those textbooks. In addition to the complete texts of the Homeric Hymns and Hesiod's Theogony, this collection provides generous selections from over 50 texts composed between the Archaic Age and the fourth century ad. Ancient interpretation of myth is represented here in selections from the allegorists Heraclitus, Cornutus and Fulgentius, the rationalists Palaephatus and Diodorus of Sicily, and the philosophers and historians Plato, Herodotus and Thucydides. Appendices treat evidence from inscriptions, papyri and Linear B tablets and include a thematic index, a mythological dictionary, and genealogies. A thoughtful Introduction supports students working with the primary sources and the other resources offered here; an extensive note to instructors offers suggestions on how to incorporate this book into their courses.

Professor Roger Woodard brings together a group of the worlds most authoritative scholars of classical myth to present a thorough treatment of all aspects of Greek mythology. Sixteen original articles guide the reader through all aspects of the ancient mythic tradition and its influence around the world and in later years. The articles examine the forms and uses of myth in Greek oral and written literature, from the epic poetry of 8th century BC to the mythographic catalogues of the early centuries AD. They examine the relationship between myth, art, religion and politics among the ancient Greeks and its reception and influence on later society from the Middle Ages to present day literature, feminism and cinema. This Companion volumes comprehensive coverage makes it ideal reading for students of Greek mythology and for anyone interested in the myths of the ancient Greeks and their impact on western tradition.

Presents a collection of essays that explore a wide variety of aspects of Greek and Roman myths and their critical reception from antiquity to the present day.

Dictionaries of classical mythology have long been the province of the Greek tradition—any mention of the Romans is often by contrast, painting a portrait of a people without gods, heroes, or a true mythology of their own. This two-hundred-year-old prejudice, born of the Romantic movement and nourished by the classical scholarship of the nineteenth century, portrayed the Romans as merely practical—a race of engineers, jurists, and empire-builders—in stark contrast to the authentically creative poets, dramatists, and philosophers of ancient Greece.  Widely reviewed and celebrated on its initial publication three years ago, Peter Wiseman’sThe Myths of Romedismantles those entrenched prejudices and ambitiously explores the neglected evidence for a uniquely Roman mythology. Inspiring writers, artists, and statesmen throughout the ages, the myths of Rome—iconographic and literary—have enjoyed a rich afterlife in Western culture, from the works of Botticelli and Shakespeare to the emblems of higher learning.

Following the structure of the Classical Tradition volumes of Brill's New Pauly this Supplement volume -The Reception of Myth and Mythology highlights the routes and works through which the myths of Greece and Rome have passed into the cultural memory of Europe over the centuries, into its literature, music and art and its reflections on aesthetics and philosophy. New media too, such as film, comics and advertising, have taken up the ancient mythological figures. 187 illustrations provide visual examples of this history.The articles discuss the ancient testimonies to a particular myth and pursue the theme through late antiquity and the Middle Ages into the early modern period and the (post)modern world. A bibliography at the end of each entry presents the current state of scholarship.The indices provide references firstly to other mythical figures, and secondly to over 2,600 representative figures of all creative genres from antiquity to the present day who have taken up, interpreted and constantly reshaped the ancient myths.This is a valuable addition to the increasing literature on the influence of Classical culture on later generations."

This volume begins with Roman myths and traces their influence in early Christian and later European literature. Ninety-five entries by leading scholars cover subjects such as sacrificial cults and rites in pre-Roman Italy, Roman religion and its origins, the mythologies of paganism, the survival of the ancient gods in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, gypsy myths and rituals, romanticism and myth in Blake, Nerval, and Balzac, and myth in twentieth-century English literature.

"Throughout his comprehensive text, Robin Hard presents a clear, lucid account of the complex and sometimes contradictory mass of legends that functioned for the Greeks as the history of their origins, without losing the local color and archetypal meaning they have for the modern reader. The narrative framework of the book remains that of Rose, with helpful signposting so that the book can be used as a reference work. The text also includes full documentation of the ancient sources, maps and genealogical tables. Illustrated throughout with numerous photographs and line drawings, it will be the definitive account of ancient Greek mythology for generations to come."--BOOK JACKET.

This website brings together a rich collection of art images, literature, and information about Greek gods and heroes. There is extensive treatment of individual divinities and mortals.