Research Guides: RELG 106: The Sense and Senses of Islam: Readers and Guides

Introduction

There are many helpful readers, guides, and histories on Islam, music, art, etc. Readers typically have short, encyclopedia entries on various topics with suggested reading lists. Below are a few examples of readers and guides that might provide you with some ideas for further research.

**Please note spelling differences for Koran/Quran/Qur'an etc. You may need to search using different variations of a term.

Background Materials / Bibliographies

Islamic World
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good short topical chapter followed by a useful bibliography.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides alphabetically-arranged articles on qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good survey articles with suggestions for further readings. Published in 2004.

Encyclopedia of Religion
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published in 2005. Note that some of the articles and bibliographies have not been updated since the 1987 edition. Also available in print format. Provides good introductory articles with suggestions for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Islam
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the 2nd ed., enhanced by the inclusion of an Index of proper names and an Index of subjects, and the ongoing 3rd ed.
Oxford Bibliographies in Islamic Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An excellent place to start looking for additional writings on your topic. This source consists of annotated bibliographies on various topic. The entry on each topic start with a very short overview followed by suggestions for further reading on various aspects of the topic. The topics are listed alphabetically. To see a list of all of the topics covered click on the "Learn more about this subject" link in the left boxed column. Then scroll down after the new screen appears.

Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Each of the first five volumes have articles selected on particular themes/topics. You can look at the table of contents of each volume and/or check the subject index at the end of volume six to find entries on your topic. Volume six also has some supplementary articles. (first volumes were published in 2003, volume six was published in 2007).
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This print source is also available online as part of the Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Volume 1 has useful articles with good bibliographies. You may want to look at the "List of Entries by Topic" on page xix to find entries related to your topic.

Encyclopaedia Islamica
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Islamica is a projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopedias. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, it offers the Western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition.

Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is automatically updated whenever a new volume has been published. New content will be added every year in alphabetical order. The project started with the letter A in 2008 and is expected to be completed in 2023.

Recitations

Quran Explorer
Listen to the reciter of your choice while seeing the translation of your choice on the left side of the page and the Arabic on the right. To play click arrow on lower left.

Surveys

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The subject entry on "Islamic Art" in this encyclopedia of art provides a historical overview as well as an survey of developments in various artistic mediums.
Islamic art and architecture, 650-1250
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Along with the following book this is the standard chronological survey of Islamic art.
The art and architecture of Islam 1250-1800
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Islam and the religious arts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This survey takes a topical approach. Also covers more recent developments than other surveys.
The timeline history of Islamic art and architecture
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A heavily illustrated topical survey. Check the suggestions for further reading starting on page 180.
Islamic arts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brief survey of the arts discussed in three different time periods. Check the good suggestions for further reading starting on page 434.
Islam and Muslim art
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window