Research Guides: RELG 106: The Sense and Senses of Islam: Finding Books and Articles

Research Best Bets

ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
Encyclopedia of Religion
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published in 2005. Note that some of the articles and bibliographies have not been updated since the 1987 edition. Also available in print format. Provides good introductory articles with suggestions for further reading.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.

Tripod: Books and More
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.