Beginning with traditional Russian narratives (saints' lives, folk tales, epic and rogue narratives), the book moves through literary history chronologically and thematically, juxtaposing literary texts from each major period. Detailed attention is given to canonical writers including Pushkin, Gogol, Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, Chekhov, Bulgakov and Solzhenitsyn, as well as to some current bestsellers from the post-Communist period.
There are alphabetical and chronological lists for 273 authors, 13 introductory essays on various aspects of Russian literature, and a Russian/English title index. The Handbook to Russian Literature (REF PG2940.H29 1985) is more comprehensive than this guide however both books belong in every library that supports Russian literature studies.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
A three volume encyclopedia, volume one of the Cambridge History of Russia covers the period from early ('Kievan') Rus' to the start of Peter the Great's reign in 1689. The second volume covers the imperial period (1689-1917) addressing such themes as women, law, the Orthodox Church, the police and the revolutionary movement. The third volume provides a political, intellectual, social and cultural history of Russia and the Soviet Union during the twentieth century.
The four-volume Encyclopedia of Russian History spans the time from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union, providing a comprehensive discussion of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion and social systems.
The Routledge Atlas of Russian History by Martin Gilbert
Provides detailed profiles of all of the countries of the world. Offers information on each country's geography, people, government, economy, communications, military, and transnational issues, as well as maps and flag images. Covers 2000 - present in PDF; current interactive edition is continually updated.