Research Guides: ANTH 229: Chicana Ethnography (HC): Finding Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.

JSTOR indexes many Chicanx-specific journals. The most recent years are not always available, but individual articles can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology.

Searching with Anthropology Plus:

Use the button to get full-text copies of articles.

A separate window will open with links either to a digital copy of the article, a locally available print copy, or an Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries. To request items not held locally, simply enter your name and barcode and submit the request.

See the Search Tips tab for database strategies and recommended search terms.

AnthroSource
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology. Articles are from peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.

Recommended Journals

Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
Signs is a multidisciplinary journal of feminist scholarship.

Citation Indexes

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When you connect, choose the Cited Reference Search tab to begin.
Enter the author's name: Last name first First name initial only with asterisk
Skip Cited Title box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year box
Under Current Limits, open Citation Databases and uncheck Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Science.
On the next screen choose the relevant results based on the Cited Work titles.
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.

When you connect, choose the Cited Reference Search tab to begin.
Enter the author's name: Last name first First name initial only with asterisk
Skip Cited Title box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year box
Under Current Limits, open Citation Databases and uncheck Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Science.
On the next screen choose the relevant results based on the Cited Work titles.
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar also has a cited reference feature and, unlike the Web of Science, includes book titles in its results along with journal articles. Enter your known book or article title with quotation marks. On the results screen, see the Cited by [no.] link for newer publications which refer to your source.