Research Guides: HLTH 228 / ICPR 228: Social Epidemiology (HC): Philadelphia Data

Finding City/Metro Data

This page contains examples of types of local and government health info you might need if your topic is focused on Philadelphia. If you are choosing another city or metro area, you are likely to find similar kinds of information for that location. See the "Web Searching Tips" tab for more info for finding location specific information.

Health

Pennsylvania Department of Health
County Level Health data across a number of measures.
Community Health Data Base
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Community Health Data Base, produced by Public Health Management Corporation, collects primary data through its biannual Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey and provides access to a number of secondary data sets. The Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey includes data about health status, personal health behaviors, and access to and utilization of area health services, at the census tract, ZIP code, county and regional level.
Community Health Resources database (CDC)
Find programs to address chronic disease. Example: Diabetes
County Health Rankings
If you are looking for a good locale for your community program, you can get health outcomes (morbidity, mortality), health factors (physical environment, behaviors, socioeconomics, demographics) and cross compare across counties and against the state average.
Philadelphia Research Initiative
The Philadelphia Research Initiative provides timely, impartial research and analysis that help Philadelphia’s citizens and leaders understand and address key issues facing the city.

Health Archives

Barbara Bates Center for the Study of the History of Nursing
The Bates Center at the University of Pennsylvania is a research center and archive dedicated to the history of nursing.
Records of the Board of Health
The City of Philadelphia Department of Records archive includes materials from the Board of Health

Other Factors

US2010: Segregation in Philadelphia
Data from 2010 about income, residential and racial segregation in the city is available for download.

Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to reports and interactive maps for the U.S. Census (1790-present), World Development Indicators (1960-2013), and Eurostat (European Union data), among others. A project of Queens College, sponsored by the New York Times and the National Science Foundation.
PolicyMap
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.

MyEnvironment: environmental information for my area
A new resource to get all environmental information for your location. You can search by zip code, street address, municipal area or natural geographic landmarks.

This page shows you how to use this site.