Provides historical maps of the city via a Google Maps viewer. Layers can be combined and viewed together. Click "Interactive Maps Viewer" to get started. Includes digitized versions of several late 19th century Philadelphia atlases and surveys.
Free registration required for searching. Brings together the collections, data, images and professional expertise of The Athenaeum of Philadelphia, the University of Pennsylvania Architectural Archives, the Philadelphia Historical Commission, the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, and several local cultural institutions, enabling free access to information on the built environment of the five-county Philadelphia area.
Provides information from the U.S. Census and several city agencies on a variety of topics, including housing, population, land use, utilities, and more. Census information is from 2000; other city information is more recent. A project of the Cartographic Modeling Lab at the University of Pennsylvania.
Contains links to indexes of lithographic, engraved, and photographic image collections, measured drawings, illustrations in architectural publications, real estate atlases and maps, city directories, tax records, census records, and scanned full-text resources relating to the five-county Philadelphia area.
Offers access to thousands of 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America. Also includes historical maps of Europe, Asia, Africa, Oceania, and the world. Includes maps at various levels of specificity (e.g., city, country, continent). Coverage varies; new maps are added continually.
Provides online access to over 50,000 photographs from the collections of the Philadelphia Department of Records. Also provides digital access to the Philadelphia historical streets index and the Philadelphia historical photograph index.