LALS 001P: Latin American Through the Lens: Photography, History, and the Present

"The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World."

Go to advance search (busqueda avanzada): select your country and type of material (i.e. Dibujos, Grabados y Fotografias)

"These collections concentrate on political and economic developments during the twentieth century"

Scroll down to the Visual Resources section

"Harvard's Widener Library is the repository of many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries."

From site: "The Latin American Visuals Online Repository is a unique resource featuring materials gathered by Latin Americanist scholars from multiple institutions for use by students and scholars alike. By combining these materials on one web site, individuals will be able to experience the rich culture, heritage, and natural beauty of Latin America and Antarctica."

"Vistas brings the visual culture of Spanish America online, offering a unique collection of paintings, sculptures, architectural monuments and objects from daily life. "

Curated bibliography of image collections. Organized by subject, it includes a section on Latin America

A large collection of color (Kodochrome) photos taken worldwide from 1938-1969. You may want to browse by location or subject.

Digitized images from the Bodleian Libraries Special Collections, ranging from manuscripts to maps to broadsides.

The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

You can search the collection or browse by subject.

Search LIFE magazine's photographs through an easy-to-use website hosted by Google. Includes photographs from the 1750s to the 1970s.

"NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images."

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

"Search over 12 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 2.4 million online media files." Includes sections such as "Hispanic Women Artist", "Mexican Migrant Workers"

This collection is particularly strong in World War I French and American posters, and World War II American "home front" posters. War bonds, rationing, enlistment, security, and morale are all topics treated by these artworks. (There are other digitized war poster collections available online, too.)

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. You can search or browse by topic, time, place, or document type (e.g. manuscripts, images, maps, motion pictures).

"Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license"

Flickr Commons contains images with no known copyright.

"Creative Commons helps you legally share your knowledge and creativity to build a more equitable, accessible, and innovative world. "