Research Guides: HIST 317: Visions of Mexico (HC): Primary Sources

Positive Images of Women

Tina Modotti, Woman from Tehuantepec, circa 1929 (Source: Wikimedia Commons, Public domain)

Guides to Primary Sources

Free Digital Resources (Latin American Studies)
This extensive listing from Johns Hopkins includes visual resources.
Mexican Primary Sources
This group of open access resources comes from the library at University of California, Berkeley.

Sources in Printed Form

Primary sources that have been edited, reprinted in facsimiles, or transferred to microfilm can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan if they are not in Tripod. Many of them will be listed in Tripod or WorldCat under subject terms and such words as "sources", "correspondence", "personal narrative*", or "memoir*". For example, the search mexico history sources produces books including:

Luz y sombra: los inicios del cine en la prensa de la ciudad de Mexico

The Mexico reader: History, culture, politics

Documentos para la historia del México independiente, 1808-1938

Women and gender in modern Latin America: Historical sources and interpretations

Books printed in earlier time periods are kept in libraries' rare book collections. You can go to Haverford's Special Collections to see materials.

Online Source Collections

Archivo General de la Nacion
Colecciones Mexicanas
Provides access to collections and digitized images of documents and books from major libraries in Mexico. Note in particular the Archivo Franciscano.
Distant Neighbors: The U.S. and the Mexican Revolution
The U. S. Library of Congress has brought together documents, photographs, maps, interviews and additional types of primary sources.
Latin American Government Documents Archive
Preserves the texts of important government publications. Notes also the related links available on the site.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Harvard University Library has digitized more than 5,000 rare pamphlets from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Latin American Travelogues (Brown University)
Full text versions of travel accounts written in the 16th through 19th centuries.
Mexican Revolution - Primary Sources
This library guide offers a variety of open access documents and images. Provided by Florida Atlantic University.
Tlatelolco Massacre: Declassified U.S. Documents on Mexico and the Events Of 1968
The National Security Archive has made 30 documents available publicly through Freedom of Information Act requests.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
- This link opens in a new window
This link to the Historical Collections section demonstrates the range of material available from documents connected with the European discovery and conquest to the FBI File on the American Churchwomen Killed in El Salvador, December 1980.

Newspapers

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Includes translations of broadcasts, news articles, and government statements from countries around the world. All content is translated into English.
Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de Mexico
This is a search engine for historic newspapers in Mexico. Go to the Advanced Search page. Note that some results are not accessible to remote users.