Research Guides: HIST 317: Visions of Mexico (HC): Background Information

Background Information

The following sources provide overviews of ideas, people, and branches of study in the history of Mexico and Latin America. They are a quick way to find out the basic facts and current points of debate.

When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, frequently, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable.

Historical Encyclopedias and Dctionaries

Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Published in 2008.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes entries on Latin American theater, both in and outside of Latin America. Available online. Published in 2003.
Encyclopedia of Mexico
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"... presents a processual view of Mexican history, society and culture from ancient civilizations to the present day. The primary emphasis is on broad historiographic issues, although the encyclopedia includes many supplementary entries on people and specific events."--Publisher's description. Published in 1997.
Historical Dictionary of Mexico
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant people, places, and events; institutions and organizations; and political, economic, social, cultural, and religious issues.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture
- This link opens in a new window
This work provides access to new scholarship on Mexico. Includes articles and references to digital archives. Published in 2019. Pertinent articles for this class include:
"Indigenous Mobilizations and the Mexican Government during the 20th Century"
"Photography and Cinema in 20th-Century Mexico"
"Revolutionary Land Reform and Its End in Mexico"
"Working Women in the Mexican Revolution"
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
- This link opens in a new window
This online reference includes brief topical articles, primary sources, and statistics concerning major historical issues in Latin American history.

Histories

A Concise History of Mexico by Brian R. Hamnett
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781107174580
Publication Date: 2019-01-31
This history looks at Mexico from political, economic, and cultural perspectives, portraying Mexico's struggle to break out of the colonial past and assert its viability as a sovereign state in a competitive world.
The Course of Mexican History by Michael C. Meyer; William L. Sherman; Susan M. Deeds
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2010-03-12
This ninth edition offers an up-to-date, engaging survey from the pre-Columbian times to the present. This new edition features more coverage of women and gender, particularly in Mexico's modern era.
The Cambridge History of Latin America by Leslie Bethell (Editor, Contribution by)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1984-2008
Eleven volume history of Latin America from the colonial period through the 20th century. See the appropriate volume/s for time periods. Also Volume XI: Bibliographical Essays.
The History of Mexico by Philip Russell
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0203851277
Publication Date: 2011-04-06
Offers a chronological survey of Mexican history from pre-colonial times to the present, and includes a glossary, tables and images. The author also guides readers through such major themes as environmental change and African slavery.
Mexico since Independence by Leslie Bethell (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0521423724
Publication Date: 1991-09-27
Mexico Since Independence brings together six chapters from Volumes III, V and VII of the Cambridge History of Latin America to provide in a single volume an economic, social and political history of Mexico since independence from Spain in 1821.
The Oxford History of Mexico by Michael C. Meyer (Editor); William H. Beezley (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0195112288
Publication Date: 2000-09-07
Drawing on radical changes in scholarship on Mexico in the past 15 years, The Oxford History of Mexico covers all aspects of the rich history of Mexico from precolonial times to the present. Topics covered include history, politics, religion, technology, modernization, ethnicity, and gender.

Reference Sources in Other Subject Areas

Latin American Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a history of Latin American film from its beginnings in 1896 to the present.

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present. Contains images and provides bibliographies of related scholarship.