A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.
Guides, Encyclopedias, and Biographical Directories
These are often good starting points for learning about a place, person, or topic, and for beginning the process of building a bibliography.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that is building an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes more than 300,000 texts, as well as audio, moving images, software and archived web pages. A good source for books printed in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including many travel accounts.
Online library of more than a million books digitized from the collections of Harvard, Stanford, Michigan, and many other university libraries. The complete texts are available for books in the public domain - principally books printed before 1923. A potential source of published travel accounts from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges are members of HathiTrust. Click on "Log In" and select your college for full access.