Research Guides: COML 259 Vikings: Facts, Fictions, and Fantasies (HC): Using Journal Articles

Journal Indexes Covering Medieval Studies and Literature

Journal articles provide scholarly information on specific aspects of topics. Articles are generally reviewed by editors prior to publication, giving authors the opportunity to strengthen their arguments. The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles related to your interests.

International Medieval Bibliography Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
Feminae This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and/or citation information to journal articles, book reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Covers materials published since 1990.

Indexes in Related Subject Areas

There are also indexes devoted to related subjects including religion, the history of science, and art history which may be of use for specific topics:

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.

History of science, technology, and medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Key resource for the history of science. Indexes the scholarly literature in the fields of the history of science and medicine. It covers both journal articles and chapter-length material from books.