Research Guides: HIST 112: American History, 1500-1877 (HC): Travel and Maps

Travel

Sharpless Family papers, ca. 1748-1875
A collection of letters, accounts, and diary entries of members of the inter-related Sharpless and Kite families. The collection includes the diaries of Mary Kite, a Quaker minister who traveled to Ohio, Virginia, and the Carolinas
John Letchworth papers
Letchworth travelled widely as a Quaker missionary, including visits to various Native American tribes. His collection contains letters and diaries.
Scattergood family papers
Thomas Scattergood was a Quaker minister. He traveled to the South, where he spoke out against slavery and preached to enslaved people. The collections includes letters and diaries.

Maps

A letter from William Penn…, 1683.
Includes a description and map of the newly laid out city of Philadelphia, as well as information on Penn’s dealings with Native Americans.
Map of Luzerne County, PA, 1823
(812R)
Portraiture of the city of Philadelphia, 1683
By Thomas Holme. (995R)
“Land, late of the Estate of Henry Hill” 1799
Surveyor’s map. (995R)
A map of some of the south and east bounds of Pennsylvania in America... 1681
By John Thornton and John Seller. (812R)
Draft of the road from William Pennell's Mill to Edgmont Road, 1761
Chester County, PA.
Plan of Lands Late of Henry Drinker, ca. 1809
Hand-drawn maps of land in Luzerne and Susquehanna counties in Western PA, including some near Kettle Creek, which at its mouth joins the Susquehanna River.
Cary, John. Cary's new English atlas: being a complete set of county maps, from actual surveys… , . . . those roads which were measured by order of the right honorable the postmaster-general, by John Cary, as well as all others, both direct and cross, riv
London: Printed for J. Cary, 1824.
An accurate map of North and South Carolina with their Indian frontiers, shewing in a distinct manner all the mountains, rivers, swamps, marshes, bays, creeks, harbours, sandbanks and soundings on the coasts.
By Mouzon, Henry. London: R. Sayer and J. Bennett, 1775.
An improved atlas, exhibiting the elevation of mountains, length of rivers, and population of cities, from the best authorities.
By Smiley, Thomas Tucker. Philadelphia: Printed for the author, and for sale at J. Grigg's, and by W. P. Bason, Charleston (S. C.), 1824.
Map of the canals and railroads of Pennsylvania: and New Jersey and adjoining states.
By Tanner, Henry Schenck. Philadelphia: H.S. Tanner, 1839.
Asia, the first part
By Ogilby, John. London : Printed by the author, 1673. See especially the map after p. 30.

Deeds

Henry and Elizabeth Drinker letters, 1777-1778
Drinker was a Quaker who refused to take an oath of loyalty during the Revolutionary War and was exiled to Virginia. Most of this correspondence revolves around land in Southport, PA. Also see 995R for a plan of his land made after his death.
Dorothy Merriman Schall papers, 1703-1897
Includes land deeds and surveys; see particularly the sections on John Alford and Edward Shippen Sr.
Reinhardt, Hawley, Hughes family papers, 1762-1955
Includes a number of deeds for land in Chester County.
Haddon-Estaugh-Hopkins papers, 1676-1841
Includes numerous deeds, indentures, surveys, and maps from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, mostly from New Jersey.
Kirk family collection, 1688-1884
Mostly legal materials, including land deeds and surveys, from Darby Township, PA.
Morris-Shin-Maier collection, 1720-1975
The collection includes land grants and deeds.